2023-K316

Assembly Resolution No. 316

BY: M. of A. Gallahan

COMMENDING the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the NCAA Division III National Championship

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate and Assembly have long valued athletic excellence at the professional, collegiate, and school levels, recognizing exceptional achievements, outstanding accomplishments, and national championships; and

WHEREAS, The storied tradition of intercollegiate athletic success at Hobart and William Smith Colleges has now risen to a new level, with the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team's victory in the NCAA Division III National Championship game in a dramatic 3-2 overtime victory over defending champion Adrian College on Sunday, March 26, 2023, at the Raymond J. Bourque Arena, in Beverly, Massachusetts, to secure Hobart's first National Championship in the history of the program; and

WHEREAS, The achievement follows the building of one of the most solid and consistent Division III programs in the country, finishing the season with a 29-2 record, ranked number 1 or 2 in the nation for most of the 2022-23 season, led by skilled scoring with skaters able to score goals in close games against challenging opponents, and noted for a stingy defense only allowing 37 goals in their championship run; and

WHEREAS, The Hobart Statesman program has been built by Head Coach

Mark Taylor, who for the past 23 years, has brought together skilled collegiate hockey players to create a team balanced by outstanding defense, wise strategy, and teamwork, where every player was prepared to get the job done one shift at a time; and

WHEREAS, Hobart Hockey took advantage of home ice in downtown Geneva's fabled "Cooler" with an undefeated 19-0-0 record, the first undefeated home rink record in the program's history; and

WHEREAS, Fans in Geneva and at visiting rinks were first-hand witnesses to collegiate hockey at its best, and recognized this special team at every game: Defensemen: Lonan Bulger, Kevin Lassman, Gagik Malakyan, Austin Mourar, Matthew Perryman, Cooper Swift, Jared Patterson, and Matthieu Wuth; Forwards: Mateo Albinati, Jonah Alexander, Luke Aquaro, Ignat Belov, Artem Buzoverya, Brenden Howell, Matthew Iasenza, Shane Shell, Zach Tyson, Tristan Fasig, Wil Crane, Tanner Daniels, Christian Duvall, Kahlil Fontana, Tanner Hartman, and Ethan Mulhearn; Goaltenders: Damon Beaver, Graham Burke, and Mavrick Goyer; and

WHEREAS, These players were supported by Hobart and William Smith President, Mark Gearan; Director of Athletics, Brian Miller; Head Coach, Mark Taylor, and his team; Assistant Coach, Tom Fiorentino; Hockey Operations Assistant, Joel Stoneham; Faculty Athletic Fellow, John Halfman; Strength and Conditioning Head Coach, Chris Gray; Head Equipment Coordinator, Kevin McDonald; Associate Director of Athletic Communications, Mackenzie Larsen, and Assistant Athletic Trainer, Sara Moore; and

WHEREAS, Among Hobart Hockey's other achievements this season were winning the NEHC Tournament Championship, winning the last 12 games of the season, scoring 123 goals while only allowing 37 goals against that included 9 shutouts in the season's 31 games, and allowing only 4 goals in the NCAA tournament; and

WHEREAS, Celebration and recognition is shared by the current and past parents, alumni players, college leadership, and boosters who have supported Hobart Ice Hockey for decades, and we offer special recognition to former Athletic Director Bill Stiles who made the decision in 1977 to elevate the decades-old Hobart Club Hockey Team to the NCAA Division III program we honor today; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes and honors the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team for this national title and how they have represented Hobart and William Smith Colleges, collegiate ice hockey in the Northeast, and our great State of New York, and for the excitement and inspiration they have provided hockey players and fans of all ages throughout this exciting and impressive season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the NCAA Division III National Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team.