2023-J865

Senate Resolution No. 865

BY: Senator MAYER

COMMEMORATING the 100th Anniversary of the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those enduring organizations which devote their purposeful energies to improving the quality and dignity of life of those they serve, to preserving their heritage, and to fostering pride among them; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP; and

WHEREAS, The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) remains an important and vital progressive voice, focusing on major civil and human rights priorities including strengthening access to quality education, improving health and environmental justice outcomes, building economic opportunity and security, advancing criminal justice reform, and promoting political representation and civic participation; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the NAACP is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race; and WHEREAS, The New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP was organized in 1923, largely through the efforts of Annie Lucille Alleyne, wife of Rev. Cameron C. Allenyne, pastor of St. Catherine AME Zion Church, and assisted by her good friend, Walter White, just 14 years after the National Association was created; as with so many NAACP branches, the New Rochelle Branch was organized in a church - Bethesda Baptist Church, and Annie Lucille Alleyne became the temporary chairperson; and

WHEREAS, This Branch of the NAACP focuses on education, political leadership, membership, technology, and housing; and

WHEREAS, One of the notable events in the history of the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP includes continuing the fight to retain the only minority city council district in New Rochelle; and

WHEREAS, The Officers of this esteemed organization, President, Min Mark McLean; 1st Vice President, Aisha Cook; 2nd Vice President, Judith Henry; 3rd Vice President, Dr. Jonathan Williams; Secretary, Denise Ford; Assistant Secretary, Carol Bracey; and Treasurer, Gayla Marsh, have made the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP one of the leading civil rights groups in New York State; and

WHEREAS, The success of the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP is also in direct correlation to the efforts of its Executive Committee members, Myriam Decime; Deloise Jackson; Hon. Pearl Quarles; Richard St. Paul, Esq.; Jennifer Minto-Hinton; Stephine Bartee; Sonya Spady; Mary Smith; Patricia Gilmore; Luetwinder Savage; Dorothy Oliver; Valerie Williams;

and Dr. Carla H. Woolbright, whose involvement is, and always has been, characterized by an impressive commitment, an unbridled enthusiasm, and an uncompromising standard of excellence in all endeavors on behalf of the organization and the community it serves; and WHEREAS, The New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP is committed to helping find durable solutions to the multiple challenges facing its communities; the history of the NAACP has shown that freedom comes with a price, a price they are willing to pay, serving as a vanguard to ensure justice and equality for all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP.