## 2023-J901

Senate Resolution No. 901

**BY: Senator HARCKHAM** 

CONGRATULATING the Harvey School Varsity Boys Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the NEPSAC Boys Basketball Class C Championship on March 5, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Harvey School Varsity Boys Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NEPSAC Boys Basketball Class C Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the number four seed Cavaliers defeated number three seed Lexington Christian Academy in a thrilling 59-55 victory to win their second championship in program history on Sunday, March 5, 2023, in Worcester, Massachusetts; and WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of maroon and blue, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Cavaliers throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 16-9 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as basketball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Denis Arnautovic and his expert coaching staff have worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Denis Arnautovic and all of the outstanding athletes on the Harvey School Varsity Boys Basketball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Harvey School Varsity Boys Basketball Team: Norawee, Kirk Ortega II, Marcus Diaz, Charles Treseler, Jackson Saccomanno, Aaron Providence, Jonah Kass, Myles Feldman, Brandon Mallon, Cameron Powell-Spruils, Bradley Lederer, Olaf Gorski, Dante Meloni, and Dylan Gueli; and Head Coach Denis Arnautovic upon the occasion of capturing the NEPSAC Boys Basketball Class C Championship on March 5, 2023; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Harvey School Varsity Boys Basketball Team, Head Coach Denis Arnautovic, and Athletic Director Ray Lacen.