2023-J1040

Senate Resolution No. 1040

BY: Senator STEWART-COUSINS

CONGRATULATING the 2023 New York State Senate Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of Distinction program was created in 1998 as part of our State celebration of Women's History Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from nominations submitted from across the State; and

WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic, and religious background have made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of society; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to individuals of remarkable character who have shown initiative and commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves, as well as acting as role models to all women in their community; and

WHEREAS, On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this opportunity to congratulate Deborah Antoniades, Winifred Armstrong,

Heather Arzberger, Frances L. Bell, Naomi Brickel, Wendy E. Brown, Cheryl Caddle, Sadie Aarons Campbell, Laura Caruso, Ann Marie Chalmers, Raisa Chernina, Lucina Clarke, Mary D'Antonio, Christine Datz-Romero, Tiffiney Davis, Jennifer DeSena, Alicia Fernandez Dicks, Ileana Eckert, Danielle Ellman, Lenore Friedlaender, Julie L. Gansle, Stephanie Barber Geter, Willie Mae Goodman, Celine Gounder, MD, Janet Handal, Eva Irizarry, Melody R. Smith Johnson, Nancy Kirby, Sumathy Kumar, The Honorable Elizabeth O'C. Little, Mildred Marie Lovell, Elizabeth Martin, Randi Matousek, Mary Ellen McCrossen, Susan Metzger, Joselinne Minaya, Annie Mohan, Ann Cotton Morris, Fraidy Nachman, Everlyn Nunez, Diane Peruggia, Yuki Numata Resnick, Etta F. Ritter, Laura A. Ryder, Tammy Ryndock, Martine Satterley, Isabella Sementilli, Jacqui Leader Sedlar, Patricia Simpson, Pastor Kim L. Singletary, Patricia Masi Stock, Rabbi Rachel Timoner, Sharon Toney-Finch, Wilma Holmes Tootle, Midge Thomas, The Honorable Debra Urbano-DiSalvo, Sonia Valentin, Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky, M.D., Valerie Walker-Michaux, Michelle Wang, Nancy W. Ware, Rebecca J. Wydysh, and Tina Zerbian as 2023 New York State Senate Women of Distinction; and

WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York State's lasting heritage by fighting against stereotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable obstacles; and

WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to succeed; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.