2023-J1141

Senate Resolution No. 1141

BY: Senator PALUMBO

CONGRATULATING the Stony Brook University Women's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the CAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship on May 6, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in collegiate sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Stony Brook University Women's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the CAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Seawolves defeated Towson University in a dominating 19-4 win on Saturday, May 6, 2023, to win their first championship in program history; the 15-goal margin of victory was the largest ever in a title game; and WHEREAS, With this monumental win, the Seawolves earned their 10th automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament with a ranking of 10th in the Nation; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and black, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Seawolves throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 7-0 conference record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as lacrosse, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Joe Spallina and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Joe Spallina and all of the outstanding athletes on the Stony Brook University Women's Lacrosse Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their college; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Stony Brook University Women's Lacrosse Team: Maggie Reznick, Kira Accettella, Caitlin Dellecave, Aaliyah Jones, Kylie Budke, Jolie Creo, Isabella Germani, Lauren Kenny, Ella Whitehouse, Jaden Hampel, Ellie Masera, Avery Hines, Kailyn Hart, Morgan Mitchell, Kelsi LoNigro, Jaidyn Donley, Erin MacQuarrie, McKenzie

Mitchell, Haley Dillon, Stephanie Doyle, Alexandra Fusco, Katie Poretsky, Lindsay Rongo, Lexie Correia, Francesca Viteritti, Jordan Forte, Alexa Constant, Courtney Maclay, Shanna Hecht, Payton Bloedow, Courtney Quinn, Hailey Duchnowski, Molly LaForge, Clare Levy, Allie Masera, Zoey Kruger, Hayden Lachenmeyer, Casey Colbert, Francesca Tortora, and Charlotte Verhulst; and Head Coach Joe Spallina on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Stony Brook University Women's Lacrosse Team, and Head Coach Joe Spallina.