2023-K653

Assembly Resolution No. 653

BY: M. of A. Flood

CONGRATULATING the Ward Melville High School Science Olympiad Team upon the occasion of winning the Eastern Long Island Regional Science Olympiad Tournament on January 28, 2023

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those who, by achieving outstanding success in their educational and scientific endeavors, have inspired, and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, It is also the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize the dedication and commitment of our young people who distinguish themselves through excellence in science competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Ward Melville High School Science Olympiad Team upon the occasion of winning the Eastern Long Island Regional Science Olympiad Tournament at Hauppauge High School on Saturday, January 28, 2023; and

WHEREAS, The Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of Kindergarten-12 science education, increasing student interest in science, creating a technologically-literate workforce, and providing for recognition for

outstanding achievement by both students and teachers; these goals are achieved by participating in Science Olympiad tournaments and non-competitive events, incorporating Science Olympiad into classroom curriculum, and attending teacher training institutes; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception 40 years ago, Science Olympiad tournaments have been modeled in a similar fashion to a track and field meet, but with 23 events comprised of science exams and engineering challenges; and

WHEREAS, Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) is becoming an exceedingly popular and driving field in New York's economy; Science Olympiad programs are influential in preparing students to be leaders in STEM and preparing them to thrive at the forefront of emerging science and technology; and

WHEREAS, Ward Melville High School, through their impressive securement of the title of Regional Champions, secured their place in the New York State Science Olympiad Tournament; in this competition held in Syracuse, New York, on March 18, 2023, where they competed against 59 other top-placing teams across the State; and

WHEREAS, In the New York State Science Olympiad Tournament, Ward Melville High School finished in the esteemed position of second place, outperforming dozens of other school teams, and earning the applause and admiration of their entire school, their families, and community at large; and

WHEREAS, Furthermore, the top 60 teams in the nation competed at the 2023 National Tournament in Wichita, Kansas on May 20, 2023; Ward Melville High School placed 19th in the country, earning an impressive position in the top 1% of all teams in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The Ward Melville High School Science Olympiad Team's successes and commendable achievements are due, in part, to the dedicated and able leadership of Head Coach Jenny Serigano and Assistant Coach, Mark Suesser; and

WHEREAS, It is appropriate to celebrate the educational and scientific accomplishments of remarkable schools such as the Ward Melville High School, and its students, coaches, and teachers; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Ward Melville High School Science Olympiad Team: Aaron Zeng, Alexander Singer, Alexandra Duan, Ben Paldy, Ben Zhang, David Wu, Daniel Liang, Emma Li, Hannah Lin (Senior Captain), Kate Sun, Katie Duong, Kevin Shi, Marley Layden, Michael Melikyan (Junior Captain), Michael Zhang, Mohemeen Ahmed, Owen Dong, Rithik Sogal, Sara Li, Sean Skinner, Tyler Matukonis, and Vivian Ye upon the occasion of winning the New York State Science Olympiad Competition; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Ward Melville High School Science Olympiad Team, and to Coaches, Jenny Serigano and Mark Suesser.