2023-J1614

Senate Resolution No. 1614

BY: Senator BORRELLO

CONGRATULATING the Chautauqua Lake Girls Varsity Volleyball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class D Volleyball Championship on November 19, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Chautauqua Lake Girls Varsity Volleyball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class D Volleyball Championship on Sunday, November 19, 2023, at the Cool Insuring Arena in Glens Falls, New York; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Thunderbirds defeated the Lake George Warriors in a decisive 3-0 victory to capture the State Championship; Chautauqua Lake took control of the game right out of the gate, and the final score was 25-17, 25-13, 25-20; and

WHEREAS, Proudly representing Chautauqua Lake, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Thunderbirds throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record of 38-11; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as volleyball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Joanne Meadows and her expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Joanne Meadows and all of the outstanding athletes on the Chautauqua Lake Girls Varsity Volleyball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Chautauqua Lake Girls Varsity Volleyball Team: Brynn Engdahl, Alice Scarpine, Karagan Fairbank, Ava Olson, Gracie Gerring, Kenna Smith, Jeanine Group, Noli Paddock, Stephanie Orton, Kristina Dickey, Sydney Williams, Breaunna Smith; Managers: Brina Jacobson, Aubrey Olson, Finley Olson, Emma Rowe; Coaching Staff: David Sturm, Eric Sturm, Jennifer Davis, Katie Meadows, Maddy Harle, Jenna Hepp; AD: Bryan Bongiovani; Principal: Rachel Curtin; Superintendent:

Joshua Liddell; and Head Coach Joanne Meadows on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Chautauqua Lake Girls Varsity Volleyball Team and Joanne Meadows.