2023-K765

Assembly Resolution No. 765

BY: M. of A. Giglio JM

CONGRATULATING the St. Bonaventure University
Women's Rugby Team upon the occasion of capturing
the 2023 National Collegiate Rugby Small-College
Women's Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in college sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the St. Bonaventure University Women's Rugby Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 National Collegiate Rugby Small-College Women's Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Bonnies defeated Wisconsin-Platteville in a thrilling 22-17 victory to capture the Championship on Sunday, December 3, 2023, at SabreCats Stadium in Houston, Texas; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of brown and white, family, friends, and the community-at-large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Bonnies throughout their journey as they ended their fall season with an impressive undefeated 12-0 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as rugby, which demands athletic prowess, speed, and agility, Head Coach Meredith Pyke worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Meredith Pyke and all the outstanding athletes on the St. Bonaventure University Women's Rugby Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their university; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the St. Bonaventure University Women's Rugby Team: Abigail Beres, Harley Brown, Itzcali Colon, Luka Galle, Morgan Kopera, Natalie Lamar, Kaylee Middaugh, Kyla Nentarz, Katie Paterson, Mia Popp, Makenna Ramsey, Jillian Rea, Olivia Reeves, Ashlee Reid, Lynette Rivera, Kara Sheesley, Rya Swenson, Alexis Switzer, Kaylee Vincent, Jaylei Wagstaff, Ellee Irwin, and Rebecca Miskines; Head Coach, Meredith Pyke; and Athletic Trainer, Thomas Gallagher upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 National Collegiate Rugby Small-College Women's Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the St. Bonaventure University Women's Rugby Team, Head Coach Meredith Pyke, and Athletic Trainer Thomas Gallagher.