

## State Lawmakers Celebrate Achievements of Region's Valedictorians and Salutatorians

ANTHONY H. PALUMBO June 16, 2023



Brookhaven Val Sal Event

This week, New York State Senator Anthony Palumbo (R,C - New Suffolk) hosted three Valedictorian and Salutatorian ceremonies in recognition of the region's top academic students. Senator Palumbo was joined by Senator Dean Murray (R,C- Brookhaven)

Assemblyman Fred Thiele (District 1), Assemblywoman Jodi Giglio (District 2), Assemblyman Joe DeStefano (District 3), and Assemblyman Ed Flood (District 4) to celebrate and congratulate the students on their impressive academic accomplishments and

achievements.

"Congratulations to all of our valedictorians and salutatorians. The hard work and dedication that these extraordinary students have shown throughout their academic careers and, especially, over the past few years is a testament to their ability and determination to succeed. I wish them all the best in their future endeavors and congratulate them, and their parents on their significant academic accomplishments," said Senator Anthony Palumbo.

"I am immensely proud to acknowledge the remarkable accomplishments of our region's top academic students. Their unwavering commitment to excellence, thirst for knowledge, and pursuit of academic success have earned them this well-deserved recognition. I commend them for their outstanding accomplishments and wish them continued success as they shape a brighter future for themselves and our community," said Assemblyman Fred Thiele.

"It was a pleasure to meet and recognize these remarkable students. Their academic achievements are a testament to their hard work, commitment, drive and determination and will, no doubt, serve them well in their future endeavors. Congratulations to all our valedictorians and salutatorians and wish you all the best in your life's next chapter," said NYS Senator Dean Murray, 3rd Senate District.

"Congratulations to each of you, and congratulations to your parents for raising such outstanding individuals. The success that we celebrate today required dedication, effort, and character, qualities that will elevate you to further achievements in life, and make you tomorrow's leaders. I wish you all a bright and prosperous future," said Assemblywoman Jodi Giglio.

"These exemplary students have pursued a standard of excellence that is both inspiring and impressive," said Assemblyman Joseph DeStefano. "They have been an inspiration

to their fellow students and will, I'm sure, go on to higher education with the same commitment and perseverance that have carried them to where they stand today. I am proud to have them as an integral part of our community and I wish them continued success in all of their future endeavors."

"Congratulations to all of the hard-working valedictorians and salutatorians of the 2023 class. Their achievements and talents thus far do not go unnoticed and will undoubtedly set them up for tremendous success. My office, my colleagues and I are proud to see such admirable academic careers and look forward to seeing them continue to soar," said Assemblyman Ed Flood.

The following Class of 2023 students earned the rank of Valedictorian and Salutatorian for their school district. Congratulations to:

(South Fork Ceremony)

Hugo Kapon and Luna Paucar- Bridgehampton School District,

Nicole Velez and Aryan Chugh- East Hampton UFSD,

Liam Sutton and Sofia Solano Cruz- Hampton Bays UFSD,

Emily Squires and Griffin Greene- Sag Harbor UFSD,

Megan Sitzmann and Daniel Gosnell- Westhampton Beach UFSD,

(North Fork Ceremony)

Liliana Harbin and Emma Mulhall- Greenport UFSD,

Jessica Rakoczy and Jenna Sledjeski- Mattituck-Cutchogue UFSD,

Hayden Rylott and Andrea Napoles- Shelter Island UFSD,

Danna Duarte and Anna McCarthy - Southold UFSD,

(Brookhaven/Riverhead Ceremony)

Jillian Ryan and Emma Morris- Center Moriches UFSD,

Maxwell Cosenza and Jack Montoya- Comsewogue UFSD,

Benjamin Isaacson and Fiona Schlegel- Eastport South Manor CSD,

Ryan Styron and Michael Ho- Longwood CSD,

Brooke McCormick and Lilah Lindemann- Miller Place SD,

Corey Wong and Kathryn Rubino- Mount Sinai SD,

Olivia Schlegel and Kathleen Zhou- Port Jefferson SD,

Emma Ellis and Jennifer Alonzo Moreno- Riverhead CSD,

Abigail Seplavy and Lucy Clarke- Rocky Point UFSD,

Anja Minty and Bryan Vogel- Shoreham-Wading River CSD,

**Eva Della Pietra and Serene Stoller-** Three Village CSD.