

NEW YORK STATE SENATOR Shelley B. Mayer

Mid Hudson News: Senator Mayer recognizes area students with Youth Leadership Awards

MID HUDSON NEWS June 17, 2023

ISSUE: YOUTH LEADERSHIP AWARDS



Rye Neck Superintendent Dr. Eric Lutinski E.d.D., Senator Mayer, Rye Neck Students, and Rye Neck Assistant Principal Jason Doerr. Photo provided.

REY NECK- State Senator Shelley Mayer awarded 17 students throughout Senate District 37 with the 2023 New York State Senate Youth Leadership Award on Monday, June 12, 2023. The NYS Senate Youth Leadership Award recognizes outstanding high school students for excellence in the classroom, athletics, and extracurricular or community activities. In addition to presenting each student with a certificate for their achievement, Senator Mayer led an open discussion to learn more about each student's work and to allow student leaders to learn from and inspire one another.

Senator Shelley Mayer said, "I am pleased to present Youth Leadership Awards to these tremendous students from high schools throughout District 37. We are fortunate to have many hard-working students dedicated to inspiring and leading others. Whether they achieved high marks in academics, gave hundreds of hours of community service, or led their peers to success, as a community we benefit from their leadership, empathy, and determination every day. As Chair of the Senate Committee on Education, I especially appreciated hearing their stories and learning more about what they have done in their schools and their future plans. I thank Superintendent Dr. Eric Lutinski and the Rye Neck High School for hosting this ceremony."

"We are proud to host the 2023 Youth Leadership Recognition Awards this year. Our five nominees exemplify the quality and character of our Rye Neck student body and we are gratified that they have been recognized by Senator Mayer for their efforts," said Dr. Eric Lutinski, Ed.D., Superintendent of Rye Neck Schools.

Students from Bronxville, Harrison, Rye, Rye Neck, Scarsdale, Tuckahoe, and White Plains were recognized. Each student was nominated by a teacher or school administrator for their outstanding leadership.

Article Here.