## 2023-J1735

Senate Resolution No. 1735

**BY: Senator O'MARA** 

CONGRATULATING the Waverly High School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class C Football Championship on December 2, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Waverly High School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class C Football Championship on Saturday, December 2, 2023 at JMA Wireless Dome in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Wolverines defeated Fonda-Fultonville in a decisive 46-26 victory; besting No. 1 ranked Fonda-Fultonville, Waverly utilized a balanced aerial assault and running attack to surge past the Braves; and WHEREAS, This being the first state championship for Waverly football, the last time the Wolverines reached the State quarterfinals was one year ago and in 2015; this state title win made school history for the Waverly High School Football Team; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Wolverines throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 13-1 overall record and their first state title; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Jason Miller and his assistants have worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jason Miller and all of the outstanding athletes on the Waverly High School Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Waverly High School Football Team: Hogan Shaw, Carter George, Ben Shaw, Drayton Dekay, Ronin Ault, Joey Tomasso, Dalton Davis, Xavier Watson, Kolsen Kealthley, Payton Fravel, Seto Noto,

Chase Wheeler, Jay Pipher, Jace Fravel, Bryce Laforest, Ethan Perry, Braeden Nichols, Justin Koenig, Nate Peters, Josh Silva, Matthias Welles, Tim George, Derek Johnson, Ryan Shepard, JT Williams, Jarren Ennis, Jacob Benjamin, Daniel Fischer, Carson Rockwell, Jace Peters, Hayden Bill, Kayne McCutcheon, Aiden Strope, Troy Beeman, Kam Hills, Jake VanHouten, Jack Cheresnowsky, Tristan Campbell, Roger Webster; Head Coach Jason Miller; DC David Shaw; Line Coach Derek Bowman; Wide Receiver and Defensive Back Coaches Peyton Miller and Jeff Mastrantuono; Running Back and Safety Coach Josh Mastrantuono; Head Modified Coach Chad Rylott; Operations Pete Girolamo; Modified Coach Trevor Bauman; and lastly, Assistant Joe Tomasso upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class C Football Championship on December 2, 2023; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Waverly High School Football Team, Head Coach Jason Miller, Superintendent Dr. Eric Knolles, Principal Ashley Hunt, and Athletic Director Rich McIntosh.