## 2023-J1787

Senate Resolution No. 1787

**BY: Senator O'MARA** 

CONGRATULATING the Tioga High School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class D Football Championship on December 2, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Tioga High School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class D Football Championship on Saturday, December 2, 2023 at JMA Wireless Dome in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Tioga High School Football Team won its third state championship in a row, beating Stillwater High School 63-14 in a decisive win; this marks the Tigers third perfect season in a row and the program's fourth championship in total; and WHEREAS, Taking control of the game in the first half, the Tigers continued to control the game and shut down the Warriors advances; Tioga High School Football Team is the first team in the Elmira television region to win three state titles in a row since Hornell accomplished the same feat from 2009 to 2011; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to the sport of football and representing their school, Tioga High School Football Team improved their overall win streak to 41 games with the capture of the state championship and secured an unprecedented three-peat; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of blue and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Tigers throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 14-0 overall record and their first state title; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Nick Aiello and his assistants have worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Nick Aiello and all of the outstanding athletes on the Tioga High School Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Tioga High School Football Team: Jayden Duncanson, Shea Bailey, Ben Leary, Drew Macumber, Evan Sickler, Gavin Fisher, Jackson Bombard, Valentino Rossi, Caden Bellis, Logan Bellis, Jonah Lamb, Gavin Albrecht, Trysten Barto, Lukas Nichols, Declan McKee, Brennan Sindoni, Gianni Silvestri, Ousmane Duncanson, Gage Hopkins, Shane Platukis, Connor Streeter, Owen Parker, Hunter Fethers, Levi Bellis, Kaden McCarthy, Josh Benjamin-Doyle, Markel Watkins, James Howey, Austin Babcock, Jackson Clark, Tate MaCauley, Brayden Lounsbury, Garrett Godfrey, Derek Mills, Nate Hulbert, Cameron Rought, Mark McCane, Austin Mumbulo, Gavin Kithcart, Dominic Palmer, Kadin Cole and Karson Sindoni; Head Coach Nick Aiello; Assistant Coaches Adam MaCauley, Jordan Hathaway, Jason Bellis, and Tyler Spires; Volunteer Assistants Jake Howland, Connor Hutchinson, Perry Silvestri; and lastly, Modified Coaches Stan Siberski, Jude Platukis and Dan Pearce upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 NYSPHSAA Class D Football Championship on December 2, 2023; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Tioga High School Football Team and Head Coach Nick Aiello.