2023-J1908

Senate Resolution No. 1908

BY: Senator MYRIE

CONGRATULATING the Medgar Evers College Men and Women's Indoor Track and Field team upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 CUNYAC Indoor Track and Field Championships on February 18, 2024

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in collegiate sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Medgar Evers College Men and Women's Indoor Track and Field team upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 CUNYAC Indoor Track and Field Championships on Sunday, February 18, 2024, at the Nike Track & Field Center in New York, New York; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Medgar Evers College Men's Indoor Track and Field team has captured the CUNYAC Championship for the first time in its program history; the

Medgar Evers College Women's Indoor Track and Field team won their first indoor track and field title in 20 seasons; and

WHEREAS, The Men's Cougars worked as a team to achieve 151.5 points by the end of the meet, followed by Hunter College with 114 points; the Women's team finished with 166 points, surpassing Hunter Lehman, York, and CCNY; and

WHEREAS, This win is truly remarkable, as this was the first win for Medgar Evers College athletics since February 26, 2011 when the Medgar Evers Men's Basketball team, won the conference crown; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of black and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Cougars throughout their journey as they ended their seasons with impressive overall records; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as track and field, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Hugh Reid and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of these championship teams, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the track; and

WHEREAS, Coach Hugh Reid and all of the outstanding athletes on the Medgar Evers College Men and Women's Indoor Track and Field teams have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Medgar Evers College Men's Indoor Track

and Field team: Adeolu Adeyemi, Joshua Adisa, Isaac Akindipe, Saibo Ceesay, Kayshaun Higgs, Jerome Hodges, Jahiem Johnson, Rupert Luard-Charles, Crisnel Nicholas, Christopher Richards, Dontay Washington, Derek Wicker; the members of the Medgar Evers College Women's Indoor Track and Field team: Aaliyah Bartholomew, Nia Butler, Jada Clayton, Deja Davis, Toshel Goffe, Lovely Joseph, Jada Lambert, Lashunda Miller, Desireth Ramirez, Torey Richards, Imani Richardson, Nana Samake, and Sarah Vallon; and Head Coach Hugh Reid upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 CUNYAC Indoor Track and Field Championships on February 18, 2024; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Medgar Evers College Men and Women's Indoor Track and Field teams, and Head Coach Hugh Reid.