2023-J2202

Senate Resolution No. 2202

BY: Senator HELMING

CONGRATULATING the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing their second consecutive NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship on March 23, 2024

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body has long valued athletic excellence at the professional, collegiate, and school levels, recognizing exceptional achievements, outstanding accomplishments, and national championships; and

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing their second consecutive NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship, held on Saturday, March 23, 2024, at the Koeppel Community Sports Center in Hartford, Connecticut; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the storied tradition of intercollegiate athletic success at Hobart and William Smith Colleges has again risen to a new level when the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team bested Trinity College in a 2-0 shutout victory; and

WHEREAS, The achievement further cements Hobart College's reputation as one of the most solid and consistent Division III programs in the country, finishing the season with a 28-2-1 record, consistently ranked among the top Division III programs in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The Hobart Statesmen program has been built by Head Coach Mark Taylor, who for the past 24 years, has brought together skilled collegiate hockey players to create a team balanced by outstanding defense, wise strategy, and teamwork, where every player was prepared to get the job done one shift at a time; and

WHEREAS, Hobart Hockey took advantage of home ice in downtown Geneva's fabled "Cooler" with an undefeated 17-0-0 record, their second undefeated home rink record in the program's history; and

WHEREAS, Among Hobart Hockey's other achievements this season included winning their second consecutive NEHC Tournament Championship, and outscoring their opponents by over 130 points across the 2023-24 season and allowing only 4 goals in the NCAA tournament; and

WHEREAS, Celebration and recognition is shared by the current and past parents, alumni players, college leadership, and boosters who have supported Hobart Ice Hockey for decades; the leadership of former Athletic Director Bill Stiles, who made the decision in 1977 to elevate the decades-old Hobart Club Hockey Team to the NCAA Division III program greatly inspired the success of the team; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mark Taylor, his expert coaching staff, and all of the outstanding athletes on the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; the excitement and inspiration they have provided hockey

players and fans of all ages throughout this exciting and impressive season is remarkably commendable; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team: Gagik Malakyan, Bauer Morrissey, Matthieu Wuth, Cooper Swift, Austin Mourar, Matthew Perryman, Conor Lally, Kevin Lassman, and Jared Patterson; Forwards: Ethan Mulhearn, Tanner Daniels, Brandon Sacchetti, Wil Crane, Matthew Iasenza, Luka Aquaro, Jonah Alexander, Mason Mara, Shane Shell, Tristan Fasig, Christian Duvall, Artem Buzoverya, Kahlil Fontana, Chris Duclair, Tanner Hartman, Ignat Belov, and Logan Gotinsky; Goaltenders: Damon Beaver, Graham Burke, and Mavrick Goyer; Hobart and William Smith President, Mark Gearan; Director of Athletics, Brian Miller; Head Coach, Mark Taylor; Assistant Coaches, Niko Kovachis and Derek Berry; Hockey Operations Assistants, Joel Stoneham and Mateo Albinati; Faculty-Athletic Fellow, John Halfman; Head Equipment Coordinator, Kevin McDonald; Associate Director of Athletic Communications, Mackenzie Larsen; Assistant Athletic Trainer, Sara Moore; Assistant Equipment Manager, Nick Prince; and Graduate Assistant, Aaron Smith upon the occasion of capturing their second consecutive NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship on March 23, 2024; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team.