2023-K2039

Assembly Resolution No. 2039

BY: M. of A. Lupardo

CONGRATULATING the Binghamton University Debate
Team upon the occasion of capturing the
Cross-Examination Debate Association's National
Tournament Championship

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those young people who, by achieving outstanding success in educational competition, have inspired and brought pride to our great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Binghamton University Debate Team upon the occasion of capturing the Cross-Examination Debate Association's National Tournament Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Cross-Examination Debate Association (CEDA) is one of the two major governing bodies of college policy debate and hosts an annual national tournament for high-level academic discussions; and

WHEREAS, The Binghamton University Debate Team has competed at several other tournaments to hone their skills in preparation for this momentous occasion and their remarkable win is the second time a team from New York State has won CEDA Nationals; and

WHEREAS, Leading up to the CEDA Nationals, the Binghamton University Debate Team won West Point's tournament in varsity and Binghamton's tournament in JV this year and consistently appeared in elimination rounds throughout the season; with students needing to take both sides of the discussion, this year's topic concerned restricting the United States' nuclear forces; and

WHEREAS, The Binghamton University Debate Team won CEDA Nationals by competing in eight preliminary debates, where they scored 7-1, and finished ranked as the 3rd seed; in the second round of the tournament, the team competed in an additional six elimination round debates to be crowned the champion; and

WHEREAS, To conclude the CEDA Nationals, the Binghamton University

Debate Team won the tournament with a decisive 5-2 decision over Wake

Forest University and defeated other notable programs such as Harvard;

and

WHEREAS, Binghamton University Debate Team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends, and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The Binghamton University Debate Team have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their university; and

WHEREAS, These scholars stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges,

understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their professors, coaches, and parents; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Binghamton University Debate Team: Eli Turner, Akif Choudhury, Ashley King, Amanda Treulich, Jana Uones, Joe Ren, Irene Cui, Nay Linn, Hailey Faurot, Abigail Connors, Kate Marin, Sonnie Picallo, Jeremy Santora, Jeremiah Cohn; and coaching staff: Joe Schatz, DavidMichael Woodward, Vincent Li, and TJ Buttgereit upon the occasion of capturing the Cross-Examination Debate Association's National Tournament Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Binghamton University Debate Team; and Coaches Joe Schatz, DavidMichael Woodward, Vincent Li, and TJ Buttgereit.