2023-J2437

Senate Resolution No. 2437

BY: Senator RHOADS

CONGRATULATING the Plainedge Boys Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing the Division I title at the NYSPHSAA Wrestling Championships on January 27, 2024

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Plainedge Boys Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing the Division I title at the NYSPHSAA Wrestling Championships on Saturday, January 27, 2024, held at SRC Arena in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, This is a tremendous victory for Plainedge UFSD as it is their first ever State Championship Team; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as wrestling, which demands athletic

prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach, Rob Shaver and Assistant Coaches, Matt Rich and Andrew Rakitzis have worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons, which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, The Plainedge Boys Wrestling Team has clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Plainedge Boys Wrestling Team: Dominic Agovino; Thomas Anderson; Jake Anglim; Matthew Caliendo; Jaden Camp; Kyle Carter; Vincent Cito; John Cynar; Jake Dephillips; Cole Dileonardo; Shane Dobbins; Devin Downes; Dylan Fella; Jon Luca Frucci; Joseph Gallo; Nick Gerbasi; Ryan Gurien; Dan Healey; Kieran Judge; James Kass; Joe Manfre; Peter Mastroserio; Jake Nieto; Luke Nieto; James Petzold; Vincent Petzold; Thomas Throo; Mike Ventricelli; Steven Ventricelli; Nick Aquino; Head Coach, Rob Shaver; Assistant Coaches, Matt Rich and Andrew Rakitzis; and Athletic Director, T.J. Burke upon the occasion of capturing the Division I title at the NYSPHSAA Wrestling Championships on January 27, 2024; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Plainedge Boys Wrestling Team; Head Coach, Rob Shaver; Assistant Coaches, Matt Rich and Andrew Rakitzis; and Athletic Director, T.J. Burke.