2023-J2618

Senate Resolution No. 2618

BY: Senator RYAN

HONORING Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke upon the occasion of winning the 2024 Sports Emmy Award

WHEREAS, Individuals who give of their time and energies and serve the best interests of their communities are an asset beyond remuneration and cannot be sufficiently extolled; and

WHEREAS, Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke have given not only of their time and energies but also of their competence, intelligence, and leadership and consequently have been designated for this special honor; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Jillian

Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke upon the occasion of winning the 2024

Sports Emmy Award at the 45th Annual Sports Emmy Awards Ceremony at

Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City, New York, on

Tuesday, May 21, 2024; and

WHEREAS, In the Short Film category, Jillian Hanesworth, Poet
Laureate and activist, and Augustus Clarke, co-producer and two-time
Sports Emmy Award winner, both natives of Buffalo, obtained the Dick
Schaap Outstanding Writing Award; and

WHEREAS, Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke attained this

achievement for their short film about the resilience of the City of Buffalo, New York, titled "Still Here," written for "NFL 360" which chronicles stories, people, and places that define the National Football League; the film was poetically narrated by Jillian Hanesworth; and

WHEREAS, "Still Here" reveals the tragedies that had befallen the City of Buffalo, including the racially motivated shooting that claimed the lives of 10 Black people on May 14, 2022, and the Christmas blizzard that same year; and

WHEREAS, The National Football League (NFL) describes "Still Here" as a passionate statement about a heartbroken community leaning on its beloved football team, the Buffalo Bills, to heal from a year of off-field tragedies; and

WHEREAS, Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke have contributed their time and talents in their commendable endeavors and have given of themselves unstintingly; and

WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by individuals for the benefit of others which Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke have displayed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke upon the occasion of winning the 2024 Sports Emmy Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Jillian Hanesworth and Augustus Clarke.