2023-J2648

Senate Resolution No. 2648

BY: Senator WALCZYK

CONGRATULATING the members of the Broadalbin-Perth High School Odyssey of the Mind team upon the occasion of their victory at the Odyssey of the Mind World Championship

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to act in accord with its long-standing traditions, honoring the youth of today and leaders of tomorrow, whose character and achievements best exemplify the ideals and values cherished by this great State and Nation; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the members of the Broadalbin-Perth High School Odyssey of the Mind team upon the occasion of their victory at the Odyssey of the Mind World Championship; the event was held May 20-24, 2024, at Iowa State University; and

WHEREAS, Odyssey of the Mind is an international educational program in which students from kindergarten through college learn how to think divergently by working as a team to solve an open-ended problem; and

WHEREAS, As part of the Odyssey of the Mind program, students also learn creativity, innovation, problem-solving, critical thinking, global awareness, interpersonal and collaborative communication skills, self-direction, and adaptability; and WHEREAS, This Division 3 team competed in Problem 2, entitled "AI Tech-NO-Art," which challenged teams to design, build, and operate a device that determines if a work of art is beautiful or not; the device needed to dismantle a work of art that it decides is not beautiful to create a new work of art it believes is beautiful; and

WHEREAS, In addition to taking home the first-place trophy, the team also won a Ranatra Fusca Award for exceptional creativity; they were one of only four teams at the World Finals to receive a Ranatra Fusca, and the only team from the United States to do so; the Broadalbin-Perth team also won a Ranatra Fusca at the New York State Championships, a testament to their unwavering dedication and ingenuity; and

WHEREAS, The triumphant Broadalbin-Perth High School Odyssey of the Mind Team members are: seniors, Logan Aery, Lauryn Donahue, Blaine Herrick, and Jacob Hughes; junior, Ryan Michalski; and coaches, Carl and Alison Aery; and

WHEREAS, This momentous occasion marks the first team in Broadalbin-Perth history to win a world championship and was the team's fourth consecutive trip to the World Finals; and

WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these scholars now stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges, understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their coaches, teachers, family, and friends; and

WHEREAS, Educational competition instills the values of teamwork and accomplishment, and these outstanding students have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Broadalbin-Perth High School Odyssey of the Mind team upon the occasion of their victory at the Odyssey of the Mind World Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned members and coaches of the Broadalbin-Perth High School Odyssey of the Mind Team.