2025-J47

Senate Resolution No. 47

BY: Senator MYRIE

CONGRATULATING the New York Liberty upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 Women's National Basketball Association Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to honor and pay just tribute to those prominent individuals whose esteemed careers in athletics and contributions to the game of basketball have evolved the nature of the game, greatly contributing to the enrichment of their community and the world, and to pay homage to the women whose unprecedented success and athletic achievements inspires us all; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the New York Liberty upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 Women's National Basketball Association Championship; and

WHEREAS, New York Liberty are the 2024 Women's National Basketball Association Champions, beating the Minnesota Lynx in game five of the finals on Sunday, October 20, 2024; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great

part to the efforts of their coaches, skilled and inspirational leaders, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and members of the Liberty were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends, countless fans and residents of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, Originally established on October 30, 1996, the New York Liberty are one of the first original eight franchises in the WNBA and part of the Eastern Conference; and

WHEREAS, New York Liberty has made it to the WNBA Playoffs an astounding 19 times, and to the WNBA Finals, an incredible and challenging feat, six times since the team's conception, holding a tie record for the most Finals appearances; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of New York Liberty, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their State and Nation; and

WHEREAS, The esteemed coaches of this dedicated and talented team have done a superb job in guiding, molding, and inspiring the New York Liberty members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride, and accomplishment, and the coaches and outstanding athletes of New York

Liberty have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of New York Liberty: Jaylyn Sherrod, Marquesha Davis, Kennedy Burke, Kayla Thornton, Nyara Sabally, Leonie Fiebich, Ivana Dojkic, Sabrina Ionescu, Courtney Vandersloot, Breanna Stewart Jonquel Jones, and Betnijah Laney-Hamilton; and Coaches: Head Coach Sandy Brondello, and Assistant Coaches, Olaf Lange, Roneeka Hodges, and Zach O'Brien, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of New York Liberty and to the aforementioned Coaches.