2025-J153

Senate Resolution No. 153

BY: Senator GRIFFO

CONGRATULATING the Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 NYSPHSAA Soccer Class D Championship on November 16, 2024

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 NYSPHSAA Soccer Class D Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team began their season celebrating the program's 40th Anniversary and culminated with a spectacular Class D State Championship win; and

WHEREAS, The Emerald Knights defeated Section II's Northville, 3-0,

on Saturday, November 16, 2024, at Middletown High School to claim the program's fifth state title and first since 2011; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of green and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Emerald Knights throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 19-3-1 overall record, including 10 consecutive wins; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Brian Rose, who was a member of the school's inaugural soccer team and recipient of the CNY Coach of the Year Award, as well as Assistant Coaches Ryan Houck, Jeff Snyder, Sean Nevison, and Mike Jones, skilled and inspirational tutors respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as soccer, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Brian Rose and Assistant Coaches Ryan Houck, Jeff Snyder, Sean Nevison, and Mike Jones worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding athletes on the Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now,

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team: Cooper Roy, Elijah Meyers, Dom Daddio, Braydon Pretre, Teddy Freeth, Levi Neuenschwander, Brody Houck, Sawyer Latella, Jack Penoyer, Parker Matson, Gavin Hames, Dylan George, Tyler Kowalski, Luke Langel, Bryce Wright, Matthias Page Fagon, Colin Olsen, Cael Grawrock, Gavin Snyder, Thomas Roy, Ezra Stahlberg, Dom Mensche, and Gavin Oney; Head Coach Brian Rose; and Assistant Coaches Ryan Houck, Jeff Snyder, Sean Nevison, and Mike Jones upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 NYSPHSAA Soccer Class D Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Hamilton Central High School Boys Varsity Soccer Team; Head Coach Brian Rose; Assistant Coaches Ryan Houck, Jeff Snyder, Sean Nevison, and Mike Jones; Scorekeeper Ava Bohnert; Manager Ryan Houck, Jr.; Videographer Nathaniel Lambrecht; Photographer Rhona Cadenhead-Hames; Athletic Directors Mark Arquiett and Deb Walsh; and Superintendent Bill Dowsland.