2025-J474

Senate Resolution No. 474

BY: Senator MARTINS

COMMENDING North Shore Hebrew Academy upon the occasion of celebrating its 70th Anniversary on March 30, 2025, and paying tribute to this year's honorees

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and commend those institutions of true purpose and high achievement whose exemplary programs and accomplishments clearly demonstrate an enduring pursuit of excellence in the education of the youth of the Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend North Shore Hebrew Academy upon the occasion of celebrating its 70th Anniversary at its Annual Dinner on March 30, 2025, at Old Westbury Hebrew Congregation in Old Westbury, New York; and

WHEREAS, North Shore Hebrew Academy is a Modern Orthodox yeshiva located in Great Neck, New York; the academy has four divisions: Pre-K, Elementary (Grades K-5), Middle School (Grades 6-8) and High School (Grades 9-12); and

WHEREAS, With a comprehensive, academically rigorous Jewish and General Studies education, the nearly 1,000 total students of North Shore Hebrew Academy gain the knowledge and skills they need to excel in

their student years, their careers, and beyond; and

WHEREAS, North Shore Hebrew Academy's expansive co-curricular offerings, special programs, electives, and athletics appeal to every interest, guiding students to become well-rounded young adults who speak and act with kindness and generosity, pursue their academic and personal passions, and step up to take their place as leaders in their Jewish community and the world; and

WHEREAS, Through its long and sustained commitment to excellence in educational endeavor, North Shore Hebrew Academy has so clearly advanced that spirit of united purpose and shared concern which is the unalterable manifestation of our American experience; and

WHEREAS, This year's distinguished honorees include Michelle and Norman Rutta, the notable Guests of Honor; Sadie and Michael Hakimian, recipients of the Young Leadership Award; Gail and Dr. Burton Cohen, recipients of the Dor L'Dor Award; and Dennis Nagel, recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Award; and

WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by individuals for the benefit of others which these esteemed honorees have displayed throughout their lives; and

WHEREAS, The schools of a community mirror the character and values of the society in which they function; the residents, administration, faculty, students, and alumni of North Shore Hebrew Academy may justifiably take great pride in its past achievements, present

recognition, and legacy of excellence afforded to future generations of the community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend North Shore Hebrew Academy upon the occasion of celebrating its 70th Anniversary on March 30, 2025; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned honorees and North Shore Hebrew Academy.