2025-J573

Senate Resolution No. 573

BY: Senator PALUMBO

HONORING New York State first responders for their valiant efforts in combating the brush fires in Suffolk County, Long Island

WHEREAS, First responders exemplify the power of human compassion and the strength of the American spirit through actions of the most heroic magnitude; their sacrifices and their selfless dedication merit tribute and recognition by all citizens of this great country; and

WHEREAS, On Saturday, March 8, 2025, a brush fire began in Suffolk County, Long Island, burning approximately 400 to 600 acres of land spanning from Center Moriches to Westhampton, New York; and

WHEREAS, The scene required the emergency assistance of around 600 responders from 80 fire departments, as well as 10 ambulance crews to help combat the fires; other reinforcements consisting of the New York Air National Guard 106th Rescue Wing, the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, New York State Fire, New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services, New York State Department of Transportation, the Division of Military and Naval Affairs, New York State Police, and the help of numerous elected officials arrived on scene to strategize, provide vital resources, and fight the blazes; and

WHEREAS, With increased wind velocities and a lack of adequate precipitation affecting the area, there was an increased opportunity for

fire to spread rampantly; and

WHEREAS, Emergency response crews worked diligently for extensive hours knocking down flames and creating a fire break around the perimeter of the fire to prevent its further spread; a fire break is a wide gap of land cleared of natural materials such as trees, bushes, roots, and grasses, reducing the presence of flammable organic materials; and

WHEREAS, As a result of the fires, a state of emergency was declared on March 8, 2025, to prioritize the deployment of ground and air support for immediate fire suppression; four New York National Guard Helicopters conducted 88 water drops totaling more than 24,000 gallons on the same day; and

WHEREAS, Additionally, a burn ban went into effect for Long Island,
New York City, and parts of the Hudson Valley on March 9, 2025, to lower
the probability of such a detrimental natural disaster of happening
again; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to the expeditious and professional efforts of the countless first responders to the scene, the fires were fully contained by Monday, March 10, 2025; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express sufficient gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life, nature, and property is a sacred responsibility benefitting the greater good; and

WHEREAS, It takes a special dedication, a strong desire to help others and a tireless sense of community to forsake precious time with

family and friends to respond to the signal of an emergency; these first responders heroically performed, above and beyond the call of duty, those responsibilities which define the task of fire protection and selfless service to one's community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the heroic firefighters of: Deer Park Fire Department, Lindenhurst Fire Department, North Babylon Volunteer Fire Company, West Babylon Fire Department, Wyandanch Fire Department, Dix Hills Fire Department, Melville Fire Department, Bay Shore Fire Department, Bayport Fire Department, Bohemia Fire Department, Brentwood Fire Department, East Brentwood Fire Department, East Islip Fire Department, Hauppauge Fire Department, Holbrook Fire Department, Lakeland Fire Department, West Islip Fire Department, West Sayville Fire Department, Kings Park Fire Department, Nesconset Fire Department, Bellport Fire Department, Blue Point Fire Department, Brookhaven Fire Department, Brookhaven National Lab Fire Department, Center Moriches Fire Department, Centereach Fire Department, Coram Fire Department, East Moriches Fire Department, Eastport Fire Department, Farmingville Fire Department, Gordon Heights Fire Department, Hagerman Fire Department, Holtsville Fire Department, Manorville Fire Department, Mastic Fire Department, Mastic Beach Fire Department, Medford Fire Department, Middle Island Fire Department, Miller Place Fire Department, Mount Sinai Fire Department, North Patchoque Fire Department, Patchoque Fire Department, Ridge Fire Department, Rocky Point Fire Department, Selden Fire Department, Setauket Fire Department, Sound Beach Fire Department, Terryville Fire Department, Yaphank Fire Department, Jamesport Fire Department, Riverhead Fire Department, Wading River Fire Department, Bridgehampton Fire Department, East Quogue Fire Department, Flanders Fire Department, Hampton Bays Fire Department, North Sea Fire Department, Quoque Fire Department, Sag Harbor Fire Department, Southampton Fire Department, Gabreski Airport ARFF, Westhampton Beach Fire Department, Cutchoque Fire Department, Mattituck Fire Department, Orient Fire Department, Amagansett Fire Department, East Hampton Fire Department, Springs Fire Department, Shelter Island Fire Department, Brentwood Ambulance, Exchange Ambulance of the Islips, Manorville Community Ambulance, Mastic Ambulance, Mastic Beach Ambulance, Medford Ambulance, Patchogue Ambulance, Port Jefferson Ambulance, South Country Ambulance, Stony Brook Volunteer Ambulance Corps, Riverhead Ambulance, Flanders Northampton Volunteer Ambulance, Hampton Bays Ambulance, Southampton Village Ambulance, Westhampton Ambulance, East Norwich Fire Department, Elmont Fire Department, Glenwood Fire Department, Jericho Fire Department, Plainview Fire Department, Roslyn Fire Department, Syosset Fire Department, and Uniondale Fire Department; police departments: Suffolk County Police Department, Suffolk County Deputy Sheriffs, Southampton Town Police, and the New York State Police; New York Air National Guard 106th Rescue Wing; and various New York State agencies for their valiant efforts in combating the brush fires in Suffolk County, Long Island; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Suffolk County Department of Fire, Rescue, and Emergency Services.