LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2010 New York State Senate Contemporary Women of Distinction Award honorees to be celebrated May 25, 2010

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those Women of Distinction within the Empire State who have made strong contributions to their communities and who inspire others through their model citizenship; and WHEREAS, These illustrious women have added vitality, sensitivity and understanding to the diversity and value of the people of the State of New York: and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the 2010 New York State Senate Contemporary Women of Distinction Award honorees to be celebrated at its Annual Ceremony and Reception on Tuesday, May 25, 2010; and WHEREAS, For the past 13 years, the New York State Senate has honored a select group of outstanding women who work to improve the lives of others, subsequently making the world a better place to live; to date, more than 400 women across the State have been awarded this most prestigious accolade; and WHEREAS, The 2010 Contemporary Women of Distinction are being recognized for their dedication to community, achievements in education, the arts, health, and business; they have not only achieved great success on an individual level, but also on a community and social level, strengthening the communities of this great Empire State; and WHEREAS, Historically, great achievements have been made by women of New York, such as Susan B. Anthony who was a teacher in Hardscrabble, New York, and began her career in social activism in Rochester; Eleanor Roosevelt, born on West 37th in New York City, fought for civil rights

during her tenure as First Lady; Ella Fitzgerald who grew up in Yonkers and became a jazz legend; Lucille Ball, born and raised in Chautauqua County, went on to become a legend of the screen; and Harriet Tubman who did a majority of her work in the women's suffrage movement from her home in Auburn, New York; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 Contemporary Women of Distinction include: Aissatou Ndao, Muriel Allerton, JoAnn T. Atlas, Aurelia Greene, Mary Walsh Boatfield, Dolores Patterson Caldwell, Edie Carbone, Linda S. Chiarenza, Mary Carroll Clavin, Susan M. Cohen, Ilene Corina, Corrina Grant, Joy Cousminer, Rachel Lee Davis, Andrea L. DeMeo, Katherine M. Doherty, Alice J. Fiacco, Rena Finkelstein, Eileen Frey, Lisa A. Frisch, Ada Grabowski, Ph.D., Dedra Grant-Wade, Cheryl Anne Hall, Helen Ann Henkel, The Honorable Jacqueline Grace Boyce, Catherine McVay Hughes, Dafny Joy Irizarry, Paloma Izquierdo-Hernandez, Janice Emanule-Bunn, Carrie Kahn, Lynn Kennison, Peggy Liuzzi, Kathy Marchione, Mary-Howell Martens, Kathleen "Katie" Kilcommons McGowan, Anna Marie Lusins McLachlan, Ann Chambers Meagher, Mimi Pierre Johnson, Mayor Stephanie A. Miner, Margaret B. "Mardy" Moore, Peg Overdorf, Jodie A. Perry, Jean Phelps, Magaly Polo, Terri Pouymari, Carol Quirk, Chandler M. Ralph, Julie Ratner M.D., Lillian Rodriguez-Lopez, Carol Ruane, Eileen Santiago, Ph.D., Mary Silver, Carol G. Simon, Dee G. Vandenburg, Diane Arneth, Victoria Schneps, Tricia Haggerty Wenz, Helen R. Worth, and Olga Rovt; and WHEREAS, Each of these exceptional women of singular distinction have continually demonstrated extreme competence, extraordinary intelligence, and diligent leadership in their unwavering service to their communities; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the wellbeing and vitality of their community and have shown a

long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2010 New York State Senate Contemporary Women of Distinction Award honorees to be celebrated May 25, 2010; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the 2010 Contemporary Women of Distinction honorees.