2011-J2987

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Orchard Park High School Football Team and Coach Gene Tundo upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class AA Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, The Orchard Park High School Football Team are the New York State Class AA Champions; the Quakers completed a perfect 13-0 season as it won its second state title in four years, defeating Newburgh by a score of 21-13 at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Gene Tundo, a skilled and inspirational

and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence;

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Orchard Park High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven

themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Gene Tundo has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Gene Tundo and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Orchard Park High School Football Team; its members: Luke Hoppy, Benjamin Johnson, Ryan McPoland, Mitchell Gefaller, David Crowley, Kole Robinson, Benjamin Holmes, Richie Moore, Daniel Murphy, Austin Goltz, Raphael Pagliel, James Schneider, Timothy Wagner, Peter Goltz, Jett Modkins, James Fitzgerald, Okoya Anderson, Oliver Potenza, Mitchell Wilson, Neil Farrell, Luke Holquist, Adam Knaszak, Hans Weisansal, Patrick Hogan, Chase Smith, Florian Prantl, Andrew King, Grant Osadchey, Christopher Sanfilippo, Bobby Akinyele, Jacob Galas, Austin Reese, Jonathan Brooks, Connor Eddy, Alan Rodges, Matthew Dolan, James Duffy, Daquan Rodriguez, Jordan Hansgen, Brian Moran, Jeremiah Sheehy, Austin Memmo, Kyle McCartan, Adam Belica, Richard Ruh, Joseph O'Shei, Cody Martin, Michael Senn, Scott Tanyl, Chris Eisenhut, Brian Hayes, Devon Leach, Quinten Kelson, Liam Speyer, Tyler Lucci, Jeremy Werner, and Austin Antkowiak, and Coach Gene Tundo on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Orchard Park High School Football Team and to Coach Gene

Tundo.