2013-J2666

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class AA Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, teamwork, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball Team from C.W. Baker High School in Baldwinsville, New York, defeated Clarence High School with a score of 4-1 on June 8, 2013, to win the New York State Class AA Championship, the team's first-ever state title; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, these outstanding players proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school and the entire Baldwinsville community; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Dave Penafeather and Assistant Coaches Mark Bader, Chris Savacool, and John Pallotta; these skilled coaches have helped develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball season, members

of the team were always loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends and fans from throughout the entire community; and WHEREAS, Members of the Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletic ability and good sportsmanship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball Team upon the occasion of the team's New York State Class AA Championship whose members are: Gage Blasi, Scott Blewett, Michael Borek, Kevin Carson, Colin Conklin, Brett DeLola, Joshua Demoski, Nicholas Harper, Zachary Leo, Gabe J. Levanti, Casey McAllister, John Mercurio, Dennis Merryweather, Jacob Norton, Kevin Paul, Joshua Savacool, James Schmidt, and Ian Spaulding; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Baldwinsville Varsity Baseball Team.