2013-J2627

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Class AA Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, On June 8, 2013, the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team defeated East Meadow High School, the Section VIII champions from Nassau County, with a score of 5-0 to secure the New York State Class AA Championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team advanced to the championship game after defeating Brockport 4-0 during the state semi-final; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, these outstanding students and softball players proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school and community; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Mary Beebe; and WHEREAS, Throughout the entire season, players on the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team were always loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends and fans from throughout the entire community; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team rallied behind one another in establishing a sisterhood of athletic ability and good sportsmanship, while demonstrating the importance of teamwork, focus and determination; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team upon the occasion of the team's New York State Class AA Championship whose members are: Katie Scott, Brooke Szado, Khaliya Flournory, Kalet Lenart, Cassie Franklin, Sydney O'Hara, Lindsey Silfer, Lauren Floyd, Mattie Kennedy, Jessica Francati, Breanna Malfi, Beth Bonin, Kelly Corbin, Amy Van Hoven, and Morgan Phillips; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Cicero-North Syracuse Girls Softball Team.