2013-J2717

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Allegany County Little League Senior Division upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Little League Championship

WHEREAS, It is incumbent upon the people of the State of New York to recognize and honor outstanding young people who demonstrate the qualities that lead to success in athletics and life in this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Allegany County Little League Senior Division upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Little League Championship; and WHEREAS, The Allegany County Little League Senior Division successfully captured the New York State Championship against Massapequa; with both teams focused on the title, Allegany County and Massapequa went head-to-head in a pair of games in Dix Hills, New York, on July 28, 2013, with Allegany County emerging as the victor; and WHEREAS, Before reaching the title game, Allegany County dominated Fulton County with an 18-3 win; the team lost a game to Massapequa in a very close match by a score of 2-1; with an eye toward success and the state title, Allegany County knew they would have to put their best foot forward in order to capture the state championship; and WHEREAS, This championship led these dedicated athletes into the Eastern Regionals where they continued their success; through hard work and perseverance, Allegany County defeated state champions from Connecticut and New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, The Allegany County Little League Senior Division completed their post season with a record of 13-2, fourth in the Eastern Region, 10th in the nation and ranked as the 15th team left playing in the

world; and

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to publicly recognize the Allegany County Little League Senior Division; its members:

C.J. Pierce, Billy Emery, Brett Migliore, Allen Murphy, Liam Cunningham, Josh Cline, Reston Pettit, Gary Burdick, Justin Fisher, Hunter

Kane, Alex Cornell, Cole Tracy, Andrew Weigman, Kyle Redman, Kirby Weinhauer; Coaches: Bob Murphy, Kevin Redman, Jon Nickerson, Marty Kane; and Manager John Anderson upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Little League Championship title; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Allegany County Little League Senior Division upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Little League Championship title; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Allegany County Little League Senior Division, Coaches Bob Murphy, Kevin Redman, Jon Nickerson, and Marty Kane, and Manager John Anderson.