2013-J2816

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating this year's honorees upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2014 Dr. Martin Luther King Award for Character, Leadership and Excellence

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those individuals who would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate this year's honorees upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2014 Dr. Martin Luther King Award for Character, Leadership and Excellence, to be celebrated on Thursday, January 16, 2014, at Elmont Memorial High School; and

WHEREAS, The outstanding High School Honorees include: Aaron Buissereth, Akeile Barrett, Amber-Rae Lawson, Andreas Pavlous, Bolewa Dawes, Brittany Ingram, Courtney Ihaza, De'Ante Gonzalez, Elijah Smith, Gregory Rhone, Isaiah Maharaj, Jake Mellen, Jaleesa Irving, James Bailey, Jared Thompson, John P. Iacona, Keith Tompkins, Kendall St. Louis, Marlena Santos, Marvin Campbell, Matthew Brutus, Michael Bediako, Michael Gregori, Mikhail Culpeper-Brown, Oluwabunmi Aruleba, Rasheed Adenlola, and Tyler Fortune; and

WHEREAS, The month of February acknowledges the rich and diverse heritage of our great State and Nation; Black History Month seeks to emphasize that Black History is American History; and WHEREAS, The 2014 honorees have distinguished themselves through outstanding success in character, leadership, excellence and community involvement; they are all true assets to society; and WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by individuals for the benefit of others which these honorees have displayed throughout their lives; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the life in their community and have shown a sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate this year's honorees upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2014 Dr. Martin Luther King Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned honorees.