2013-J2936

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber, and Stacey Zrihen, of i-Shine, upon the occasion of their designation as 2013

People of the Year by the NASSAU HERALD, on December 26, 2013

WHEREAS, Individuals who give of their time and energies and serve the best interests of their communities are an asset beyond remuneration and cannot be sufficiently extolled; and

WHEREAS, Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber, and Stacey Zrihen have given not only of their time and energies but also of their competence, intelligence and leadership and consequently have been designated for special honor; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber, and Stacey Zrihen, of i-Shine, upon the occasion of their designation as 2013 People of the Year by the NASSAU HERALD, on December 26, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber, and Stacey Zrihen brighten the lives of families dealing with cancer through their work with i-Shine, a Nassau County program that provides fun activities, homework assistance, and support for children in kindergarten through eighth grade who have sibling or parent with a terminal illness; and

WHEREAS, The idea for i-Shine emerged in 2006, when Annette Kaufman, an occupational therapist from Woodmere, New York, who has treated children with cancer for more than 20 years, saw that the siblings of the terminally ill children she worked with were burdened by schoolwork, and had parents that were too busy with doctors' appointments and running daily errands to keep their households afloat; she eventually met Stacey Zrihen, of Lawrence, New York, a marketing professional who was looking for volunteer opportunities that would allow her to use her particular skills and gifts; and

WHEREAS, i-Shine was created in 2007 after Annette Kaufman, Stacey Zrihen, and a third co-founder connected with Woodmere resident Andy Lauber, a social worker with Chai Lifeline, a Manhattan-based organization that offers family-centered programs, activities and services for seriously ill children and their families; and

WHEREAS, i-Shine clearly filled a pressing need in the community; when it was first established, eight students signed up to attend the program at the Lower School; the number has since grown to nearly 40, and the students are from the Lawrence School District and neighboring yeshivas such as the Hebrew Academy of Long Beach, the Torah Academy for Girls in Far Rockaway and the Woodmere-based Yeshiva of South Shore, among others; and

WHEREAS, High school and college students are paired with a child to help him or her with homework, and together they take part in activities such as cooking, arts and crafts and sports; adult volunteers drive students to and from the school, supervise their activities and help serve dinner; and

WHEREAS, Beyond activities and homework assistance, the i-Shine program offers much needed stability, relaxation, and love to its participants, whose lives are often turned upside-down when a family member is diagnosed with cancer; and

WHEREAS, Programs such as i-Shine reflect the values of compassion, selflessness, and generosity that characterize what is best in communities across the great State of New York; Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber and Stacey Zrihen are to be commended for creating and maintaining such an invaluable community resource; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire period of their community service, a period of constructive involvement, Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber and Stacey Zrihen have stood constant in dignity, good grace and humor; and WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by individuals for the benefit of others which Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber and Stacey

Zrihen have displayed throughout their lives; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber and Stacey Zrihen, of i-Shine, upon the occasion of their designation as 2013 People of the Year by the NASSAU HERALD; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Annette Kaufman, Andy Lauber and Stacey Zrihen.