## 2013-J3301

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2013 Herricks Award Recipients for special recognition from the Nassau County Soccer Coaches Association on December 3, 2013

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the 2013 Herricks Award Recipients for special recognition from the Nassau County Soccer Coaches Association; this momentous occasion was celebrated at the Association's Annual Awards Dinner on Tuesday, December 3, 2013, at the Uniondale Marriott; and WHEREAS, The 2013 Herricks Award Recipients include: Coach Dennis Horton, Jacob Schulson (FWD, All-Conference), Zach Elgort (GK, All-County, Scholarship Award Winner), Billy Gounaris (DEF, All-Conference), Nevin Nambiar (DEF, All-County Honorable Mention) and Sean O'Shea (Scholarship Award Winner, Coaches Award); and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, these team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Dennis Horton and these outstanding young athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence

which is a tradition of their schools; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2013 Herricks Award Recipients for special recognition from the Nassau County Soccer Coaches Association on December 3, 2013; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-

smitted to the aforementioned honorees.