2013-J3547

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse

Team upon the occasion of winning the Section III Class C Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our community, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to hereby recognize and congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning the Section III Class C Championship; and WHEREAS, No team can succeed without talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case for the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team: Kyla Sears, Tate Green, Sophie Gorman, Emma Ford, Maura Tierney, Elizabeth Lane, Kristen Chalupnicki, Molly Wood, Hannah Powers, Casey VanSlyke, Nicole Beatson, Hannah Logan, Natalie Roche, Alex Welch, Rachel Hurley, Maddie Sherman, Catie Woodruff, Kristen Pille, Jessica Labourdette, Alana Navaroli, Malorie Olin, Jessica Pileski, and Isabella Falcone; and

WHEREAS, On May 26, 2013, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York, the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team faced off against Marcellus

High School, a neighboring school district, to take home the Section III Class C Championship with a 12-7 victory; it was the team's 12th sectional championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Section III Class C win helped the Skaneateles Girls

Varsity Lacrosse Team advance to the Class C State final, where the team squared off against Mt. Sinai High School; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire season, the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team demonstrated strong play, a shining defense and a fast recovery of ground balls; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team is in great part due to the efforts of Head Coach Bridget Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Steve Rice and Katie Rozak, who are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent, posting a spectacular end of season record of 19-3 and being undefeated in their division; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Rice and Rozak did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring members of the Skanea-teles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team toward its goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to hereby recognize and congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team upon winning the Section III Class C Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Lacrosse Team,

Head Coach Bridget Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Steve Rice and Katie Rozak.