2013-K887

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Skaneateles Girls Varsity

Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those talented young individuals within our midst, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to hereby recognize and congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Championship; and WHEREAS, On February 8, 2014, the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team made history by sharing the State Championship title with Potsdam High School, after a 2-2, four overtime deadlocked final state match at the Clayton Recreation Park Arena; and

WHEREAS, The Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team and the Potsdam Girls Varsity Hockey Team demonstrated impressive effort and determination to battle through four overtimes and more than three hours on the ice; since the New York State Public High School Athletic Association rules say that after four overtimes in high school girls hockey the game must end, both teams were declared state co-champions; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster, as is the case for the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team: Paige Postalwait, Marykate McHale, Mikaela Scanlon, Amanda Lupo, Madison Singler, Maria Christou, Meredith Frank, Melissa Amory, Bella Csemez, Makie Kerr, Carley Mills, Izzy Winkler, Sophie Kush, Kathryn Lindgren, Maria McLean, Alison Weiss, Abby Kuhns, Louisa Morrow, Lynn Copeland, Riley Donahue, Morgan Matthews, Sarah Sauda, Claire Michel, Mallory Kovacs, Caroline McGuigan, Katie Halko, Johna Halko, Lauren Jones, and Grace Schnorr; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire season, the Skaneateles Girls Varsity

Hockey Team demonstrated strong play, a shining defense and good sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team is in great part due to the efforts of Head Coach Michael Major, Assistant Coach Stephanie Murphy and volunteer Coach Fred Singler, skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, These coaches did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring members of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team toward their goal; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent, posting a spectacular regular season record of 14-4-2; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to hereby recognize and congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey

Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each member of the Skaneateles Girls Varsity Hockey Team,

Head Coach Michael Major, and Coaches Stephanie Murphy and Fred Singler.