2013-K982

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey
Team upon the occasion of winning the Section III, Division II Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through rigorous training, mental and physical discipline, teamwork, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young individuals within our midst, who by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to hereby recognize and congratulate the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the Section III, Division II Championship; and WHEREAS, No team can succeed without talent throughout the entire roster, as is the case for the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team: Mike Currier, Justin Giannone, Jordan Jackson, Bill Farrington, Hunter Charles, Casey Komanecky; Nick Netti, Austin Fraher, Mike Gentile, Tyler Stebbins, Jay Wilkes, Reed Chronis, Brett Lowe, Joe Butera, Sean Lattimore, John Duffy, Kaiden Tubbert, Tyler Ely, Matt Hesse, Mike Foltz, Danny Entenmann, Brian Franceschelli, Jake Orlando, Jake Farrington, Brendan Entenmann, and CJ Panek; and WHEREAS, On February 22, 2014, at the Utica Auditorium, the Auburn

Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team faced off against the Skaneateles Lakers, of a neighboring school district and a decade long rival, to take home the Section III, Division II Championship Title, with a final score of 2-1; this was the team's first championship win in history; and WHEREAS, The Section III, Division II win helped the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team advance to the state semi-final game against Beekmantown Central School District, which resulted in a 2-1 loss for the team; and

WHEREAS, The Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team is known for its physically powerful players, endurance, and strong offensive zone; and WHEREAS, Hard work and determination have given the members of the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team what was needed to hold off their competition, not allowing any goals scored in the third period during tournament play, and out scoring its competition by an average of 7 goals; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice
Hockey Team is in great part due to the efforts of Head Coach Mike Lowe
and Assistant Coaches Rob Chapin, Brett Davenport, and Ron Netti, who
are all skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability
to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the outstanding players of the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team proved to be a terrific combination of talent, posting a spectacular regular season record of 17-7 overall and a record of 10-3 in league play; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mike Lowe and Assistant Coaches Rob Chapin, Brett Davenport, and Ron Netti did a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring members of the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team towards their goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to hereby recognize and congratulate the Auburn Boys Varsity Ice Hockey Team upon winning the Section III, Division II Championship; and be it

further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each team member, Head Coach Mike Lowe, and Assistant Coaches Rob Chapin, Brett Davenport, and Ron Netti.