## 2013-J4677

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Madrid-Waddington Boys Varsity
Basketball Team and Coach Aaron Jones upon the occasion of capturing the
Section 10 Class D Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Madrid-Waddington Boys Varsity Basketball Team captured the Section 10 Class D Championship for the third straight time, by defeating Chateaugay High School 68-52 on Saturday, March 8, 2014, at SUNY Canton; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Aaron Jones, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Madrid-Waddington Boys Varsity Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship game, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, good sportsmanship, honor and scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Aaron Jones has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members towards winning their third consecutive Class D championship; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork; pride and accomplishment, and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Madrid-Waddington Boys Varsity Basketball Team, its members: Jacob Barney, Alex Hammond, T.J. Gagnon, Zach Brock, Aaron Armstrong, David Odendahl, Mike Thew, DaKota Matthie, Austin Lanning, Harrison VanBuren, Brandon Vice, Wade Lawrence, Jordan Arquitt and Dylan Wolf, Head Coach Aaron Jones, and Assistant Coaches, Tim Dashnaw, Matt O'Bryan, Mike O'Bryan, and Denny Jones, on their outstanding season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Madrid-Waddington Boys Varsity Basketball Team, Head Coach Aaron Jones, and Assistant Coaches, Tim Dashnaw, Matt O'Bryan, Mike O'Bryan, and Denny Jones.