LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Girls High School Alumnae Association upon the occasion of hosting its Annual Scholarship Luncheon on Saturday, April 26, 2014

WHEREAS, Organizations which serve the interests of the people of this Empire State merit the commendation of this Legislative Body; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the Girls High School Alumnae Association upon the occasion of hosting its Annual Scholarship Luncheon "Sharing the Legacy" to be held at the Bethany Baptist Church Fellowship Hall, Brooklyn, New York, on Saturday, April 26, 2014; and WHEREAS, This year's honorees include: Dr. Cynthia Clarke, who will receive the Educator's Award; Marguerite Fletcher, the recipient of the Community Service Award; and Marcia Melendez/Flowerworks, receiving the Community Entrepreneur Award; and WHEREAS, The Girls High School Alumnae Association is a non-profit organization guided by the mission of awarding scholarships to graduating seniors of Boys and Girls High School; and WHEREAS, The group consists of graduates of Girls High School; although Girls High School as an institution closed in 1964, the group has never lost the spirit of being Girls High Graduates; and WHEREAS, For over 25 years, the group has been holding fundraisers to provide scholarships; the initial scholarship awards were one hundred dollars; currently, the organization awards five to six scholarships in the amount of one thousand dollars and book grants of three hundred dollars if funds permit; and WHEREAS, This illustrious organization continues to fulfill its

mission each year; Girls High School can boast of its many outstanding graduates such as Roxy Roker, Shirley Chisholm, Lucille Rose, and

Adelaide Sanford, to name a few; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Girls High School Alumnae Association is under the luminous leadership of Wilma E. Maynard, President; Naomi Alleyne, Vice President; Janet L. Gay, Treasurer; Louise Grinnage-Mullen, Assistant Treasurer; Joan Withington, Recording Secretary; Pearl Jones, Corresponding Secretary; Gemmel Cunningham, Scholarship Chairperson; Eslyn Leverock, Eltima Maharaj and Joan Reid, Board of Directors; and Dr. Vera W. Mattingly, President Emerita; and WHEREAS, For many years the success of the Girls High School Alumnae Association has been in direct correlation to the efforts of its members, whose involvement is, and always has been, characterized by an impressive commitment, an unbridled enthusiasm, and an uncompromising standard of excellence in all endeavors on behalf of its community; and WHEREAS, It is the practice of this Legislative Body, that when organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our

attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Girls High School Alumnae Association upon the occasion of hosting its Annual Scholarship Luncheon; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Wilma E. Maynard, President, Girls High School Alumnae Association, and the aforementioned honorees.