LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the NCAA Division I Ice Hockey Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team of Potsdam, New York, upon the occasion of winning the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship, on Sunday, March 23, 2014, at the Women's Frozen Four in Superior, Wisconsin; and WHEREAS, The Clarkson University Golden Knights Women's Hockey Team captured their first national title by defeating two-time, defending champions, Minnesota University, 5-4 in the final minutes of the championship game; outlasting the Gophers in an exciting finish; and WHEREAS, With this victory, the Golden Knights Women's Hockey Team have become the first NCAA national championship winners in the history of Clarkson University Athletics; they are also the first team outside of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association to win a women's Frozen Four National Title; and WHEREAS, In addition, the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team has completed the most successful season in team history, achieving a record

of 31-5-5; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great

part to the efforts of Co-Head Coaches Matt and Shannon Desrosiers and Assistant Coach Matt Kelly, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Golden Knights Women's Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these teamplayers are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Through their hard work and dedication, these team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Matt and Shannon Desrosiers and their dedicated staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coaches Matt and Shannon Desrosiers and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team; its members: Corie Jacobson, Jennifer Shields, Jessica Gillham, Genevieve Bannon, Brittany Styner, Vanessa Plante, Renata Fast, Shelby Nisbet, Olivia Howe, Daniella Matteucci, Cayley Mercer, Carly Mercer, Vanessa Gagnon, Christine Lambert, Erin Ambrose, Shannon MacAulay, Jamie Lee Rattray, Erica Howe, Jenna Boss, McKenzie Johnson, Emily Horn; Co-Head Coaches

Matt and Shannon Desrosiers, and Assistant Coach Matt Kelly on winning the NCAA Division I Ice Hockey Championship; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Clarkson University Women's Hockey Team and the aforementioned coaches.