## 2013-J4680

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Canton High School Girls
Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the Class B Basketball
Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Canton High School Girls Basketball Team captured the Class B Girls Basketball Championship, on Friday, February 21, 2014 at SUNY Canton; and

WHEREAS, The Canton High School Girls Basketball Team beat Ogdensburg Free Academy, 59-38 to achieve the Class B Championship; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Canton High School Girls Basketball Team is due in great part to the efforts and mentoring of Coach Mike Meyers; and

WHEREAS, The Canton High School Girls Basketball Team was loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the team throughout the season were their close camaraderie, athletic ability, good sportsmanship, honor and scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment; these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school;

now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Canton High School Girls Basketball Team, its members: Rachel Sanderson, Kiersten Ashlaw, Tori Daley, Janet Beaudin, Rachael Huntley, Chantel Rose, Natalie DiSalvo, Maggie Smith, Mikaela Bessette, Katie Clemmer, Kali Frank, Sami Curtis, Megan Howard, Emily Pinckney and Caitlin Wright, Coach Mike Meyers and Assistant Coach Jim DiSalvo, on their Class B Basketball Championship and on their outstanding season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Canton High School Girls Basketball Team and Coaches Mike Meyers and Assistant Coach Jim DiSalvo.