## 2013-J4737

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSAHA Tier II Northern Zone Sectional Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The members of the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey Team captured the NYSAHA Tier II Northern Zone Sectional Championship during the weekend of February 21-23, 2014; and

WHEREAS, The St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey Team competed against teams from Lake Placid, Clifton Park, Plattsburgh, Troy-Albany and Potsdam to win the Sectional Championship; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey Team is due in great part to the efforts and mentoring of the team's dedicated coaches; and

WHEREAS, The St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey Team was loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the team throughout the season were their close camaraderie, athletic ability, good sportsmanship and honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment; these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contrib-

ution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of the St.

Lawrence Thunder Hockey teams; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

congratulate the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey Team, its

members: Sidney Molnar, Maddy Mailhot, Katie MacCuaig, Jayden Young,

Abbie Paquin, Kerrigan Rondeau, Mary-Kait Mace, Liza Collins, Bailey

Thomas, Mikenna Merry, Molly O'Connell, Raechel Davis, Madison Cullen,

Samantha Mace and Emilie Walti, and Coaches Bill MacCuaig, Matt Cullen,

Dan Rondeau and Gary Paquin, on their NYSAHA Tier II Northern Zone

Sectional Championship and on their outstanding season; and be it

further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the St. Lawrence Thunder 16U Girls Hockey Team and Coaches Bill MacCuaig, Matt Cullen, Dan Rondeau and Gary Paquin.