## 2013-J4881

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating 16 members of the West Hempstead Franklin Square Association of Girl Scouts Troop 1014 upon the occasion of receiving the distinguished Girl Scout Bronze Award, the most prestigious of Junior Scouting honors

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body, in accord with its long-standing traditions, to honor the youth of today, and leaders of tomorrow, whose character and achievements best exemplify the ideals and values cherished by this great State and Nation; and WHEREAS, Through their diligence and rigorous efforts, 16 members of the West Hempstead Franklin Square Association of Girl Scouts Troop 1014 have earned Girl Scout Junior's highest honor, the Girl Scout Bronze Award; and

WHEREAS, The accomplishments of Gabrielle Amalfitano, Lia Anastasi, Emily Blattberg, Brittney Cruz, Alexa Damkohler, Gabriella Esposito, Kristen Hopper, Alexa Kola, Emma Korszlowski, Isabella Magliaro, Alyssa Paino, Rachel Rose, Julia Ruppert, Krista Sicurella, Erica Stringer, and Isabella Zaromatidis will be celebrated in a ceremony at the Annual Association Bridging and Awards Night on Friday, May 30, 2014, at the Washington Street School, Franklin Square, New York; and WHEREAS, Girl Scouting has cultivated in our nation's young the values of sisterhood, leadership, and the importance of working with others, developing both mind and body, and encouraging community service and success; and

WHEREAS, Girl Scouting has expanded the horizons of the countless young women who have participated in the excellent programs that have made Girl Scouting an American and international institution; and WHEREAS, The Girl Scout Bronze Award requires the Girl Scout Junior to learn the leadership and planning skills necessary to follow through on

a project that makes a positive impact on her community; working toward this award demonstrates her commitment to helping others, improving her community and the world, and becoming the best she can be; and WHEREAS, To earn the Bronze Award, these 16 Girl Scouts completed a series of requirements, which included building a team and exploring their community, before creating a Bronze Award Community service project which they planned, developed and executed; and WHEREAS, The Bronze Award is the capstone of a Girl Scout Junior's accomplishments in Girl Scouting and the community; this achievement demonstrates the high character and commitment of these inspiring young women, and is a harbinger of their future service to their community, New York State and our nation; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to warmly congratulate Gabrielle Amalfitano, Lia Anastasi, Emily Blattberg, Brittney Cruz, Alexa Damkohler, Gabriella Esposito, Kristen Hopper, Alexa Kola, Emma Korszlowski, Isabella Magliaro, Alyssa Paino, Rachel Rose, Julia Ruppert, Krista Sicurella, Erica Stringer, and Isabella Zaromatidis, recognizing their achievement in earning the Girl Scout Bronze Award, and wishing them success, health and happiness; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each of the aforementioned Girl Scouts.