2013-J5079

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and honoring the young achievers who will be recognized at its 29th Annual Harambee Awards Celebration on April 26, 2014

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those organizations and individuals who would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, it is the intent of this Legislative Body to commend the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and to honor the young achievers who were recognized at its 29th Annual Harambee Awards Celebration at the First A.M.E. Zion Church in Brooklyn, New York on Saturday, April 26, 2014; and WHEREAS, The Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW), Inc. was organized on January 22, 1962 at the Bedford YMCA by Odessa L. Skeene and received its Charter on March 12, 1962; and WHEREAS, Since its inception, the Brooklyn Section has worked to provide its members with a greater awareness of community activities and to engage more fully in civic life; and WHEREAS, The Brooklyn Section maintains a strong commitment to its young people through education, outreach programs, counseling and recognition; it sponsors community ventures to enhance the health and social services of residents through seminars, health fairs and voter registration campaigns for self-empowerment; and WHEREAS, The Mary McLeod Bethune Day Care Center, organized and sponsored by the Brooklyn Section, has served thousands of the community's

children; and

WHEREAS, The six young achievers who will be honored at the 29th Annual Harambee Awards Celebration were selected for their academic accomplishments, community service and church activities; and WHEREAS, The 2014 honorees include: Mariah Walker, Marcell Trotman, Trudy Sharpe, Juwan M. Jones, Semiah Harvin, and Jabari Baker; and WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to join with the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. in honoring the achievements of these six hardworking young people and leaders of tomorrow upon the occasion of the 29th Annual Harambee Awards Celebration; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. and to honor the young achievers who will be recognized at its 29th Annual Harambee Awards Celebration on April 26, 2014; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Brooklyn Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc.