2013-J5168

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Queensbury High School Football Team and Coach John Irion upon the occasion of capturing its first

New York State Class A Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Queensbury High School Football Team are the New York State Class A Champions; the Spartans defeated Williamsville North by a score of 36-7 in the Class A final on Friday, November 29, 2013, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach John Irion and Assistant Coaches Matthew Crossman, Matt Miller, and Craig Scott, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is a perfect 13-0, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Queensbury High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the champion-ship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach John Irion has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach John Irion and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

congratulate the Queensbury High School Football Team; its members: Aidan Switzer, Mitchell Crispens, Philip Wettersten, Kalen Minott, Drew Wilson, Hunter Scott, James Kassebaum, Timothy Voorhis, Tyrell Adams, Christopher Goudy, Eric St John, Michael Ditroia, Lucas Mathewson, Kody Bruno, Erik Myers, Erik Wettersten, Anthony Hewitt, Brett Rodriguez, Sean Doran, Austin Borho, Brandon Kauffman, Ian Kirkpatrick, Jeffrey Underhill, Francis Nassivera, Benjamin Willows, Paul Schiavi, David Slattery, Taylor Wilson, Theodore Nolan, Adam St John, Kyle Gross, Erich Haux, Matthew Benware, Thomas Szabo, Anthony DeGregorio, Zoran Morrell, Nicholas Marasco, Marc Lambert, Tyler Hancock, Nicholas Aiden, Jason Wiederhold, Zachary Dunbar, Johnathon Dennett, Logan Graham, Keeghan O'Leary, and Christopher Johnson; Head Coach John Irion and Assistant Coaches Matthew Crossman, Matt Miller, and Craig Scott, as well as Videographer Otto Miller and Team Manager Jenifer Stimpson on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Queensbury High School Football Team and to the aforementioned staff.