2013-J5744

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of being inducted into the Greater Utica Sports Hall of Fame on June 8, 2014

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to outstanding athletes who have distinguished themselves through their exceptional performance, attaining unprecedented success and the highest level of personal achievement; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of being inducted into the Greater Utica Sports Hall of Fame, to be celebrated on Sunday, June 8, 2014, at the Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre,

Utica, New York; and

WHEREAS, The 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team, coached by 2006 inductee Mike Tomassetti and assistant coach Ken Jarosz, had an amazing season; the team compiled a 24-2 record and won numerous championships along the way; and

WHEREAS, This exceptional team won the Holland Patent Christmas Tournament with a 77-52 victory over Holland Patent, and captured a Center State Conference Championship with a 13-1 league record; in post-season play the team defeated Lyme 84-61 for the Section III Title; and WHEREAS, The 1982 Marauders followed with a Regional Championship when they beat Morristown, as well as a Western Zone Title with a victory over Chautauqua; the highlight of the season occurred in Glens Falls, New York when the team met Tuckahoe for the NYSPHSAA State Title; and WHEREAS, New York Mills defeated Tuckahoe 82-77 for the first State Basketball Championship in the area; the following day the season was completed with a win over Manhattan's McBurney School for the Federation

Title; and

WHEREAS, Three exceptional players, Scott Albright, Kevin Berry, and Scott Wojans, were chosen for both the All-Tourney Team in Glens Falls, as well as three different All-State teams; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players were truly second to none; and WHEREAS, The 1982 team's overall record was outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is moved to honor the 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team for their extraordinary accomplishments which are a tribute to the team's skill, dedication and commitment; now, therefore be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team; its members: Scott Albright, Kevin Berry, David Comenale, Bill Herthum, Jim Humphrey, Terry Inkawich, Ron Kaczor, Christian Keator, Bob Kinville, Paul McAndrew, David Newman, Chris Nunno, Wolfram Ploof, Scott Wojans; Coach Mike Tomassetti and Assistant Coach Ken Jarosz; and Managers: Andy Abramowicz, Rich Bartoszek, John Marcinkawicz; on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned members of the 1982 New York Mills Boys Varsity Basketball Team.