2013-K1043

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Webster Schroeder High School Boys Varsity Hockey Team and Coach Steve Parshall upon the occasion of capturing New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division II Hockey Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, The Webster Schroeder High School Boys Varsity Hockey Team captured the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Division II Hockey Championship by defeating Beekmantown High School 2-0 on Sunday, March 9, 2014, at the Memorial Auditorium in Utica, New York; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Steve Parshall, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans,

friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Webster Schroeder High School Boys Varsity Hockey Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Steve Parshall has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members towards winning the Division II championship plaque; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Steve Parshall and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Webster Schroeder High School Boys Varsity Hockey Team; its members: Ryan Beutel, Cooper Lee, Zach Opela, Connor Ball, Trenton Van Dyne, Ruairi McHugh, Joe Schuler, Matt Impallaria, Mike Papas, Brent Carlson, Jeremy Caulkins, James Brower, Jack Donnelly, Casey Winn, Billy Van Appledoorn, Matt Montgomery, Ryan Winn, Joe Chinelly, Alec DeYoung, Justin Gibb, Brendan McBride, Jacob O'Connor, Colin Montesano, Ian Stahl, and Patrick Gurnow; Coach Steve Parshall; Assistant Coaches Dave Broussard, Jason Mordaci, Carlos Alvarado and Dave Perrotta; Athletic Trainer Samantha Anderson, and Director of Physical Education and Athletics Gary Tirohn on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Webster Schroeder High School Boys Varsity Hockey Team; Coach Steve Parshall; Assistant Coaches Dave Broussard, Jason Mordaci, Carlos Alvarado and Dave Perrotta; Athletic Trainer Samantha Anderson; and Director of Physical Education and Athletics Gary Tirohn.