2013-J5165

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the distinguished veterans from the State of New York upon the occasion of their induction into the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame to be celebrated on May 20, 2014

WHEREAS, Members of the Armed Services from the State of New York, who have served so valiantly and honorably in wars in which this country's freedom was at stake, as well as in the preservation of peace in peacetime, deserve a special salute from this Legislative Body; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the distinguished veterans from the State of New York upon the occasion of their induction into the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame to be celebrated on May 20, 2014; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame inductees are members of any branch of the United States Armed Forces which include Army, Navy, Coast Guard, Air Force, and Marine Corps; these exceptional men and women are chosen for this prestigious honor based on either service in combat or notable work performed after discharge from the service; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 inductees include: George Alexander, Jr., Arma E.
Andon, Barb Beebe, Ray Beebe, Walter Blum, Eugene "Micky" Clark, Robert
J. Clark, Sal Conforto, Thomas Cray, Prisco "Pete" DeAngelis, Armen
Enkababian, Dominick Feeney, Blossom Ferguson, Gary L. Flaherty, John
Foy, Anthony L. Fruscian, Abner Greenberg, Donald Griffin, John L.
Halford, Sr., Frank Hollister, Jukay Hsu, Charles A. Johnson, Walter
Kittle, Mary P. LaManna, Joseph Landi, Israel Lugo, Serphin Maltese,
Robert "Bob" Mandel, Walter Mankoff, Tony Marsella, Wendy Charece
McClint, John McHugh, Sr., Robert McLean, Dina M. Michael, Charles
Moore, Paul Morales, Alan Moskin, Bill Moye, James B. Neider, Bill

Nelson, Michael H. Ollis, Michael Pascal, Joseph G. Pollicino, Claude Quick, Danylo Rakowsky, Edward Rossley, Joe Ruszala, Cedric V. Smith, John D. Smith, Sr., Anthony J. "Tony" Specchio, Sr., Stan F. Stanley, Robert Tarpinian, Sidney Tendler, David T. Wallingford, John O. Webster, Jacob Worrell, William R. Yale, and Louis Zamperini; and WHEREAS, The banner of freedom will always wave over our beloved New York and all of America, the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave; and

WHEREAS, The freedoms and security we cherish as Americans come at a very high price for those serving in the military in times of conflict; it is fitting and proper that we who are the beneficiaries of those who risk their lives, must never forget the courage with which these men and women served their country; and

WHEREAS, Our Nation's veterans deserve to be recognized, commended and thanked by the people of the State of New York for their service and for their dedication to their communities, their State and their Nation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the distinguished veterans from the State of New York upon the occasion of their induction into the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame to be celebrated on May 20, 2014; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the 2014 inductees.