## 2015-J82

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Binghamton Mets Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2014 Eastern League Championship

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those exemplary teams which excel in athletics, distinguishing themselves through notable achievements and representing the great Empire State with pride and determination; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Binghamton Mets Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2014 Eastern League Championship on Friday, September 12, 2014; and WHEREAS, Ably led by Manager Pedro Lopez, the Binghamton Mets Baseball Team captured the 2014 Eastern League Title with an exciting 2-1 victory over the Richmond Flying Squirrels to sweep the three-game championship series; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 Eastern League Championship is the Binghamton Mets' third title win in three appearances, and their first since 1994; and WHEREAS, With this victory, the Binghamton Mets have achieved a new franchise record of 89 regular season and postseason wins combined, surpassing the previous record of 88 wins set in 1994; and WHEREAS, The team's overall performance was outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Binghamton Mets Baseball Team, from the

opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, and of honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Manager Pedro Lopez and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their city; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Binghamton Mets Baseball Team; its members: Randy Fontanez, Michael Fulmer, Chase Huchingson, Matt Koch, Adam Kolarek, Rainy Lara, Greg Peavey, Tyler Pill, Hansel Robles, Cody Satterwhite, Paul Sewald, Jon Velasquez, Gabriel Ynoa, Xorge Carrillo, Cam Maron, Jayce Boyd, Brian Burgamy, Gavin Cecchini, Dustin Lawley, T.J. Rivera, Darrell Ceciliani, Kyle Johnson, Brandon Nimmo, and Travis Taijeron; Manager Pedro Lopez; Assistant Coaches, Luis Rivera, and Glenn Abbot; Board of Directors: Michael Urda (President), Bill Maines, David Maines, and George Scherer; General Manager Jim Weed; Assistant General Manager/Director of Marketing Heith Tracy; Director of Stadium Operations Richard Tylicki; Director of Broadcasting and Media Relations Tim Heiman; Director of Community Relations Connor Gates; Box Office Manager Joe Pascarella; Office Manager Karen Micalizzi; Corporate Sales Executive Josh Patton; Special Events Coordinator Erica Folli; Director of Food and Beverage Bobby Urda; Scholastic Programs Coordinator Lou Ferraro; Director of Merchandise Lisa Shattuck; Director of Video Production Justin Cohen; Sports Turf Manager E.J. Folli; Official Scorer Steve Kraly; and Public Address Announcers Chris Schmidt and Roger Neel on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Binghamton Mets Baseball Team.