2015-J176

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Manhasset 2019 Team 32 Lacrosse Team and Coaches Derek Slattery and Brian Ackerman upon the occasion of winning the 2014 Crimson Summer Classic Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, The Manhasset 2019 Team 32 Lacrosse Team captured the 2014 Crimson Summer Classic Championship with an exciting 9-5 victory over the North Shore Shippers on Sunday, July 13, 2014, at Harvard University Stadium, Boston, Massachusetts; and WHEREAS, Team 32 utilized outstanding goaltending, tenacious defense and spectacular offensive performances to win five straight games and remain undefeated throughout the tournament; in addition, they outscored their opponents by an impressive 45 goals for to just 22 against; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coaches Derek Slattery and Brian Ackerman, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's perfect tournament record of 5-0 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of Team 32, from the opening game of the Crimson Summer Classic to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, and of honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Derek Slattery and Brian Ackerman have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coaches Derek Slattery and Brian Ackerman, and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Manhasset 2019 Team 32 Lacrosse Team; its members: Will Allen, Brian Arella, Jackson Cherry, Matthew Cozzi, Conor Downing, Matthew Frankel, Gabe Grullon, Jack Hannan, Ryan Healy, Colin Holdreith, John Mastando, Derek Mulholland, Joseph Mulholland, Nicholas Quinn, Steven Salerno, Trey Sperry, Jack Sullivan, Ross Tortora, Steven Vlahakis, Patrick Weber and Charlie Young, and Coaches Derek Slattery and Brian Ackerman on their outstanding performance and undefeated team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Manhasset 2019 Team 32 Lacrosse Team and Coaches Derek Slattery and Brian Ackerman.