2015-J210

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Indian River Central School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the Class A New York State Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can only be achieved through strenuous practice, team play, and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within our community, who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competitions, have inspired and brought pride to their school district and community; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Indian River Central School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class A Championship; and WHEREAS, Indian River won the Class A Championship by defeating the previously undefeated defending state champions from Queensbury 63-38, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse on Sunday, November 30, 2014; and WHEREAS, The Indian River Warriors, fell behind early on in the game, 19-0, but never lost heart, steadily climbing back into competition with a dominant rushing performance, to win the game and end their season with an impressive record of 13-0; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the dedication of their many family, fans, friends, and the community at large, who came out in force to cheer the Indian River Warriors to victory, and who loyally and enthusiastically supported the team throughout their season; and WHEREAS, The team won every game it played this past season, not as

individuals, but as a team, respecting each other, the game and their

coaches; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to publicly recognize those high school athletes who have achieved notable success in this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Indian River Central School Football Team: Dylan Ashwood, Densel Barnes, Christopher Bass, Alexander Behling, Jeffrey Bell, Dylan Bishop, Lawrence Borce, Connor Brown, Daquan Brown, Rickey Burgos, Mitchell Bursey, Jesse Buzzell, Jared Chant, Noah Davidson, Anthony DeMarco, Chase Farrell, Reiley Fleming, Elijah Franklin, Allen Garcia, Juan Garcia Robles, Serone Gates, Connor Hajdasz, Jefferson Hando, Darrien Holland, Seamus Honeywell, Tyler Iketau, Chase Ingram, Aiden Kearns, Jayeson Laga, Joshua Lee, Ryan Loar, Damian Lynch, Trevor McDonald, Taylor Miller, Khorey Mitchell, Keon O'Neil, Jonah Raydo, Anthony Reclosado, Zachary Redder, Avery Reed, Gary Ruckman, Dustin Sharrit, Tyler Sloley, Brandon Smith, Jeremy Snyder, Zachery Stone, Nena Tolenna, Cole Vonsik, Romel Washington, Juwan Williams, Tellas Wilson, and Tyler Wright; Coach Cory Marsell and Assistant Coaches Matt Armes, Chadd Johnson, John Gray, and Kevin Smith, Athletic Director Jay Brown and Team Manager Dakota Miller on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Indian River Central School Football Team.