2015-K67

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Maine-Endwell Football Team and Coach Matt Gallagher upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Maine-Endwell Football Team are the New York State Class B Champions; the Spartans defeated Schalmont High School by a score of 27-19 on Friday, November 29, 2014, at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York; and

WHEREAS, Attaining its state record-tying 51st straight victory, the Maine-Endwell Spartans have become the first team in the history of the New York State football playoffs to win four consecutive titles, capturing the last three Class B crowns following a Class A title in 2011; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Matt Gallagher and Assistant Coaches Duane Titus, Gary Crooks, Ben Amorese and Damon Beers, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 13-0 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Maine-Endwell Football Team, from the

opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Matt Gallagher has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Matt Gallagher and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Maine-Endwell Football Team; its members: Michael Palmer, Drew Gallagher, Adam Gallagher, Kevin Barrett, Micah Miller, Joe Korba, Kyle Balmer, David Verrastro, John Cerra, Travis McDonald, Kobe Garrehy, Andrew Grassi, Lance Sheard, Austin Spickerman, Tyler Thompson, Cordell Woolfolk, John Carlsson, Shane Bryant, Kevin Every, Alec Greene, Tao Chen, Trent Story, Tyler Rockwell, Austin Brigaglia, Josh Westcott, Scott Clark, Dan Koch, Brady Wisniewski, Tommy Panella, Charles Soriano, Drew Torrance, Cody Backus, Randy Hoskins, Cole Visingard, Kurt Burdick, Peter Rotella, Jake Felice, Hunter Hazen, Trent Vazquez, Ben Smith, Patrick Gardner, Shane Burcume, Brad Chesebro, Stephen Pham, Ricky Van Fleet, Bryan Kurkoski and Dan Calderone; and Head Coach Matt Gallagher and Assistant Coaches Duane Titus, Gary Crooks, Ben Amorese and Damon Beers on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Maine-Endwell Football Team and to the aforementioned coaches.