2015-J561

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring Carle Place High School students upon the occasion of receiving the distinguished Advanced Placement Scholar Awards

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those who, by achieving outstanding success in their educational endeavors, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, It is also the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize the dedication and commitment of our young people who distinguish themselves through excellence in Advanced Placement Exams; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Carle Place High School students upon the occasion of receiving the distinguished Advanced Placement Scholar Awards; and WHEREAS, The National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar Award is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams; and WHEREAS, Receiving this award from Carle Place High School are: Francesca Lim, Sarah Megiel, and Jesus Rivera; and WHEREAS, The AP Scholar with Distinction Award is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams; and WHEREAS, Receiving this award from Carle Place High School are: Daniel Alleva, Gregory Barbosa, Luke Delulio, Danielle Grieco, Maria Grima, Nathalie Guerrero, Sahil Kadakia, Sarah Laga, Timothy Leung, Francesca Lim, Matthew Loughlin, Jillian Mannarino, Rachael Martines, Sarah Megiel, Thomas Monahan, Jessica O'Connor, Jesus Rivera, Kimberly Santos, and Luke Serio: and

WHEREAS, The AP Scholar with Honor Award is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams; and WHEREAS, Receiving this award from Carle Place High School are: Nicholas Castello, William Chiappone, Pedro Duarte, Alexandra Ferreira, Shelby Fuller, Sarah Giglio, Emalee Jimenez, Dylan Klein, Jorge Lima, Nicole LoCurto, Elena Lofgren, Marie Stellato, and Ryan Tammaro; and WHEREAS, The AP Scholar Award is granted to students who receive a score of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams taken; and WHEREAS, Receiving this award from Carle Place High School are: Brittney Amzler, Chriss Ballena, Katherine Caramanica, Matthew Carr, Melissa Choi, Nicole Cunha, Alexander DaCosta, Kaitlyn Davis, Mark Filipe, Lucas Golon, Debbie Gonzalez, Zoe Gregorace, Alex Huang, Nicholas Hytell, Anastasia Koronios, Amanda Loughlin, Daniel Mattondo, Meredith McLaughlin, Laura Murphy, Kenneth Norman, Julia Powell, Austin Topel, Isaias Torres, and Alec Visslailli; and

WHEREAS, 59 current and former Carle Place High School students were recognized as AP Scholars; this is the largest group in Carle Place High School's history; and

WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these scholars now stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges, understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their teachers, mentors and parents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor Carle Place High School students upon the occasion of receiving the distinguished Advanced Placement Scholar Awards; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned Advanced Placement Scholar Award recipients.