## 2015-J575

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Wheatley High School Varsity Field Hockey Team and Coach Kristina Roaldsen upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Scholar Athlete Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, Posting an academic average of 97.56, the Wheatley High School Varsity Field Hockey Team has been awarded the New York State Scholar Athlete Championship; this distinction is given to the team with the highest team average in New York State; and WHEREAS, The Wheatley High School Varsity Field Hockey Team has achieved this number one rating in New York State for the second consecutive year; and WHEREAS, The demanding practice schedule, combined with the ability to balance that with the requirements of a rigorous academic program, has paid off with a special honor; it is a credit to the Wheatley High School Varsity Field Hockey Team's ability to compete at a high level on the field and in the classroom; and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kristina Roaldsen has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Kristina Roaldsen and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Wheatley High School Varsity Field Hockey Team; its members: Perri Schreiber, Samantha Palazzolo, Allie Schreiber, Carly Brensilber, Jaime Chusid, Nicole Degliomini, Kimberly Esquilin, Hannah Frantz, Lauren Frantz, Jenna Gursky, Jenna Heller, Alexandra Kasparian, Taylor Keenan, Rachel Koty, Samantha Mason, Grace Pavlovich, Namita Reddy, Taylor Ribotsky, Victoria Roaldan, Jessica Sakeni, Ally Schmertz, Morgan Silverman, Amanda Sivin, Jennifer Spar, and Farrah Siegler; and Coach Kristina Roaldsen on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned honorees and Coach Kristina Roaldsen.